Ultimately_Untrue_Thought.git
10 months ago"Sexual Dimorphism" Sunday opening drafting session with Dr. Will Powers
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 7 Mar 2021 17:22:10 +0000 (09:22 -0800)]
"Sexual Dimorphism" Sunday opening drafting session with Dr. Will Powers

I want to go buy coffee, but I had to tap out these hundred words
first (which will need some editing—that "(who wanted [...] whom he
denied" passage is a trainwreck of clauses) to prove that I'm
psychologically fit to write today! Not to waste the day on Twitter,
but to write! I deserve this.

10 months ago"Point Man": title drop!
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 7 Mar 2021 06:08:37 +0000 (22:08 -0800)]
"Point Man": title drop!

10 months agocheck in: "See Color"/"Point Man" tweaks, Powers
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 7 Mar 2021 06:03:25 +0000 (22:03 -0800)]
check in: "See Color"/"Point Man" tweaks, Powers

10 months ago"Point Man": important to flash my creds
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 7 Mar 2021 05:03:42 +0000 (21:03 -0800)]
"Point Man": important to flash my creds

10 months agocontiguous draft of "See Color" Decision Child PSA linkpost
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 7 Mar 2021 04:46:28 +0000 (20:46 -0800)]
contiguous draft of "See Color" Decision Child PSA linkpost

(I should be ashamed of how proud I am of the dissonance between the
text and target of the "totally biologically the same" link.)

10 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 7 Mar 2021 01:16:19 +0000 (17:16 -0800)]
check in

10 months ago"Point Man": ax 600-word nuanced pronoun discussion
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 7 Mar 2021 00:42:08 +0000 (16:42 -0800)]
"Point Man": ax 600-word nuanced pronoun discussion

Cutting words always hurts. But you have to do it.

10 months agocontiguous draft of "Point Man"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 7 Mar 2021 00:31:52 +0000 (16:31 -0800)]
contiguous draft of "Point Man"

This one is kind of all over the place—I built up an involved thread
of language nerdery that I just drop on the floor after using it to
introduce my interlocutor's comment. I'm tempted to keep it like this,
but—I should probably cut the detailed pronoun discussion, huh? (It
could be deposited into a different post.)

10 months agodrafting "Point Man"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 6 Mar 2021 22:07:56 +0000 (14:07 -0800)]
drafting "Point Man"

10 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 6 Mar 2021 15:24:31 +0000 (07:24 -0800)]
check in

10 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 5 Mar 2021 07:41:24 +0000 (23:41 -0800)]
check in

10 months agodrafting "Sexual Dimorphism": it was a compliment
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 3 Mar 2021 18:43:58 +0000 (10:43 -0800)]
drafting "Sexual Dimorphism": it was a compliment

10 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 2 Mar 2021 05:25:48 +0000 (21:25 -0800)]
check in

10 months agodrafting "Sexual Dimorphism": Leeroy Jenkins
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 1 Mar 2021 04:22:22 +0000 (20:22 -0800)]
drafting "Sexual Dimorphism": Leeroy Jenkins

10 months agodrafting "Point Man"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 1 Mar 2021 01:03:46 +0000 (17:03 -0800)]
drafting "Point Man"

10 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 1 Mar 2021 00:43:53 +0000 (16:43 -0800)]
check in

10 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 28 Feb 2021 05:41:41 +0000 (21:41 -0800)]
check in

10 months agodrafting "Point Man"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 28 Feb 2021 05:40:22 +0000 (21:40 -0800)]
drafting "Point Man"

10 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 28 Feb 2021 00:42:11 +0000 (16:42 -0800)]
check in

10 months agodrafting "See Color" Decision Child PSA linkpost
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 28 Feb 2021 00:39:10 +0000 (16:39 -0800)]
drafting "See Color" Decision Child PSA linkpost

11 months ago"Sexual Dimorphism": Kolmogorov cont'd, cluster plea
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 22 Feb 2021 07:14:30 +0000 (23:14 -0800)]
"Sexual Dimorphism": Kolmogorov cont'd, cluster plea

11 months ago"Sexual Dimorphism": the Blue and the Gray
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 22 Feb 2021 05:01:26 +0000 (21:01 -0800)]
"Sexual Dimorphism": the Blue and the Gray

11 months agonote shuffling
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 22 Feb 2021 04:56:59 +0000 (20:56 -0800)]
note shuffling

11 months ago"Sexual Dimorphism": "Tails"?—never heard of her
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 22 Feb 2021 00:56:59 +0000 (16:56 -0800)]
"Sexual Dimorphism": "Tails"?—never heard of her

11 months agoadd alt attributes to ancillary captions
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 21 Feb 2021 23:14:42 +0000 (15:14 -0800)]
add alt attributes to ancillary captions

Pelican has been warning about these, but instead of paying the
warning no mind, maybe I should fix it.

11 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 21 Feb 2021 22:13:59 +0000 (14:13 -0800)]
check in

11 months agocorrect typos in "Human Diversity" review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 21 Feb 2021 22:13:38 +0000 (14:13 -0800)]
correct typos in "Human Diversity" review

11 months agotap draft
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 18 Feb 2021 22:24:37 +0000 (14:24 -0800)]
tap draft

11 months agoPresidential doldrums, cont'd
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 16 Feb 2021 07:24:33 +0000 (23:24 -0800)]
Presidential doldrums, cont'd

11 months agoPresidential doldrums
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 16 Feb 2021 04:49:37 +0000 (20:49 -0800)]
Presidential doldrums

It's so hard to not get distracted!! But I have to prove—that it's
possible to try.

11 months agoready ... (Presidential anxiety edition)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 16 Feb 2021 01:34:59 +0000 (17:34 -0800)]
ready ... (Presidential anxiety edition)

How do I get so lost in a Twitter gutter? I really want to finish
this! And I was supposed to do some dayjob work even though it's
President's Day. Well ... 1730 to 2130 is four hours. You can do a lot
in four hours, if you actually try. Let's try! Let's prove it's
possible to try!

11 months agocaliph
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 15 Feb 2021 09:10:43 +0000 (01:10 -0800)]
caliph

11 months ago"Sexual Dimorphism": not the movement
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 15 Feb 2021 02:51:36 +0000 (18:51 -0800)]
"Sexual Dimorphism": not the movement

11 months agoSunday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism": lit review ...
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 14 Feb 2021 23:43:37 +0000 (15:43 -0800)]
Sunday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism": lit review ...

11 months agoready, and ...
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 14 Feb 2021 20:32:51 +0000 (12:32 -0800)]
ready, and ...

11 months agoSaturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (session 6)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 14 Feb 2021 07:10:20 +0000 (23:10 -0800)]
Saturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (session 6)

11 months agoready ...
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 14 Feb 2021 05:31:28 +0000 (21:31 -0800)]
ready ...

11 months agoSaturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (session 5)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 14 Feb 2021 05:00:21 +0000 (21:00 -0800)]
Saturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (session 5)

11 months agoSaturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (call this session 4)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 14 Feb 2021 03:30:57 +0000 (19:30 -0800)]
Saturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (call this session 4)

11 months agoSaturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (call this session 3)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 14 Feb 2021 00:53:19 +0000 (16:53 -0800)]
Saturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (call this session 3)

11 months agoSaturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (call this session 2)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 13 Feb 2021 23:39:15 +0000 (15:39 -0800)]
Saturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (call this session 2)

I got coffee but I've also been a bit distracted by the Slate Star/New
York Times drama! A little bit is okay, but now it's time to work!!

11 months agoSaturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (session 1)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 13 Feb 2021 16:45:29 +0000 (08:45 -0800)]
Saturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (session 1)

I might get coffee?! I will have retrospectively deserved coffee if I
can finish this post this weekend!

11 months agocheck in, but tomorrow is going to be a big day
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 13 Feb 2021 07:30:20 +0000 (23:30 -0800)]
check in, but tomorrow is going to be a big day

I just need to push through and finish this—with the end in sight, I
should be able to kick it instead of being afraid.

11 months agoThursday evening drafting "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 12 Feb 2021 07:16:59 +0000 (23:16 -0800)]
Thursday evening drafting "Sexual Dimorphism"

11 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 11 Feb 2021 06:51:40 +0000 (22:51 -0800)]
check in

11 months agonibble at "Sexual Dimorphism" (Wed. eve)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 11 Feb 2021 06:50:06 +0000 (22:50 -0800)]
nibble at "Sexual Dimorphism" (Wed. eve)

(changed my mind again about including the "define a word any way I
want" anthology—goal is to focus on the abstract dynamics and not
E.Y.'s hypocrisy)

11 months agonibble at "Sexual Dimorphism" (still Wed.)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 10 Feb 2021 21:51:13 +0000 (13:51 -0800)]
nibble at "Sexual Dimorphism" (still Wed.)

11 months agodrafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (Wednesday morning)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 10 Feb 2021 18:13:05 +0000 (10:13 -0800)]
drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (Wednesday morning)

11 months ago"Sexual Dimorphism" Tuesday nibble
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 10 Feb 2021 07:49:56 +0000 (23:49 -0800)]
"Sexual Dimorphism" Tuesday nibble

11 months ago"Sexual Dimorphism" TODO "inline outline" structuring
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 9 Feb 2021 20:19:16 +0000 (12:19 -0800)]
"Sexual Dimorphism" TODO "inline outline" structuring

11 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 9 Feb 2021 05:05:50 +0000 (21:05 -0800)]
check in

11 months agoSunday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (evening)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 8 Feb 2021 07:07:16 +0000 (23:07 -0800)]
Sunday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (evening)

11 months agoSunday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (session 2)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 8 Feb 2021 00:35:55 +0000 (16:35 -0800)]
Sunday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (session 2)

11 months agoSunday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (session 1)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 7 Feb 2021 22:47:04 +0000 (14:47 -0800)]
Sunday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (session 1)

Need to step it up!

11 months agoSaturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (evening nibble)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 7 Feb 2021 07:03:12 +0000 (23:03 -0800)]
Saturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (evening nibble)

Need more discipline tomorrow if I'm to get this ready to ship on
Valentine's Day!

11 months agoSaturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (day session)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 7 Feb 2021 01:00:59 +0000 (17:00 -0800)]
Saturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism" (day session)

I've been pretty distracted by social media, but I at least got some
writing done! Maybe I'll do more in the evening!

11 months agocheck in notes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 6 Feb 2021 15:44:17 +0000 (07:44 -0800)]
check in notes

11 months agoschedule "You Are Right and I Was Wrong"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 1 Feb 2021 04:40:23 +0000 (20:40 -0800)]
schedule "You Are Right and I Was Wrong"

11 months agocheck in rough linkpost megathread reactions
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 31 Jan 2021 22:13:38 +0000 (14:13 -0800)]
check in rough linkpost megathread reactions

Some quick reactions to be processed into a post later. (And note a
swipe at S.A.'s powerlessness in the general notesfile.)

11 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 31 Jan 2021 06:15:36 +0000 (22:15 -0800)]
check in

11 months agocomplete draft "You Are Right and I Was Wrong"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 31 Jan 2021 02:43:05 +0000 (18:43 -0800)]
complete draft "You Are Right and I Was Wrong"

11 months agodrafting "You Are Right and I Was Wrong"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 30 Jan 2021 23:40:05 +0000 (15:40 -0800)]
drafting "You Are Right and I Was Wrong"

11 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 30 Jan 2021 15:41:31 +0000 (07:41 -0800)]
check in

11 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 28 Jan 2021 19:02:02 +0000 (11:02 -0800)]
check in

12 months agotell Isso not to hide comments just because there are many
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 27 Jan 2021 01:05:38 +0000 (17:05 -0800)]
tell Isso not to hide comments just because there are many

12 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 24 Jan 2021 05:48:34 +0000 (21:48 -0800)]
check in

12 months agoswipe at wellness notes?
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 15 Jan 2021 16:25:56 +0000 (08:25 -0800)]
swipe at wellness notes?

I don't think I actually feel like making a public blog post about my
current problems.

12 months agocheck in note links
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 11 Jan 2021 05:56:17 +0000 (21:56 -0800)]
check in note links

12 months ago"Optimized for Deception" linkpost inaugurates a new year
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 8 Jan 2021 22:30:21 +0000 (14:30 -0800)]
"Optimized for Deception" linkpost inaugurates a new year

12 months agocontainment/check in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 7 Jan 2021 23:10:23 +0000 (15:10 -0800)]
containment/check in

12 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 5 Jan 2021 21:14:17 +0000 (13:14 -0800)]
check in

12 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 2 Jan 2021 01:19:31 +0000 (17:19 -0800)]
check in

12 months agotinker with Pygments colors
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 2 Jan 2021 01:17:18 +0000 (17:17 -0800)]
tinker with Pygments colors

The default Pygments theme was greenish overall, which is off-theme;
this makes it more pink-and-purplish (surely not an optimal palette,
but a low-hanging improvement during fifteen minutes of not being
brave enough to actually write).

13 months agoepigraph on the impression that I get
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 27 Dec 2020 02:12:41 +0000 (18:12 -0800)]
epigraph on the impression that I get

13 months agocritical adjective: shared account
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 25 Dec 2020 17:13:16 +0000 (09:13 -0800)]
critical adjective: shared account

13 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 25 Dec 2020 02:21:44 +0000 (18:21 -0800)]
check in

13 months ago"Liability"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 25 Dec 2020 02:21:28 +0000 (18:21 -0800)]
"Liability"

13 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 18 Dec 2020 01:57:49 +0000 (17:57 -0800)]
check in

13 months agotie off and publish "Crossing the Line"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 17 Dec 2020 22:02:58 +0000 (14:02 -0800)]
tie off and publish "Crossing the Line"

13 months agoconsolidate vacation agenda?
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 17 Dec 2020 21:23:07 +0000 (13:23 -0800)]
consolidate vacation agenda?

13 months agoHaskell survey data post: don't count non-responses
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 17 Dec 2020 19:59:38 +0000 (11:59 -0800)]
Haskell survey data post: don't count non-responses

13 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 16 Dec 2020 23:45:00 +0000 (15:45 -0800)]
check in

13 months agofix busted "Terrorist Memeplexes" link (7 → 8) in "Categories"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 16 Dec 2020 23:33:52 +0000 (15:33 -0800)]
fix busted "Terrorist Memeplexes" link (7 → 8) in "Categories"

Was that there the whole time?? Thanks to a reader for pointing this
out.

13 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 12 Dec 2020 20:56:51 +0000 (12:56 -0800)]
check in

13 months agopoke at "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 9 Dec 2020 22:17:39 +0000 (14:17 -0800)]
poke at "Sexual Dimorphism"

13 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 9 Dec 2020 08:20:09 +0000 (00:20 -0800)]
check in

13 months agookay, I think I do want to include extra rant in the coda
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 9 Dec 2020 04:11:23 +0000 (20:11 -0800)]
okay, I think I do want to include extra rant in the coda

I was leaning towards keeping the scope limited, but now I'm leaning
back? As well for a sheep as a lamb?

13 months agopoke at "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 8 Dec 2020 21:34:04 +0000 (13:34 -0800)]
poke at "Sexual Dimorphism"

13 months agopoke at "Sexual Dimorphism" and import Tail's criticism
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 8 Dec 2020 04:54:59 +0000 (20:54 -0800)]
poke at "Sexual Dimorphism" and import Tail's criticism

Happy to be working in the main idea of the "Faster Than Science" post
that never got written.

13 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 7 Dec 2020 19:42:13 +0000 (11:42 -0800)]
check in

13 months agoSunday "Sexual Dimorphism" drafting 2: "Failed Utopia #4-2" & coda story
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 7 Dec 2020 04:57:16 +0000 (20:57 -0800)]
Sunday "Sexual Dimorphism" drafting 2: "Failed Utopia #4-2" & coda story

13 months agoSunday "Sexual Dimorphism" drafting 1: entanglement, transition doubts
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 7 Dec 2020 01:09:39 +0000 (17:09 -0800)]
Sunday "Sexual Dimorphism" drafting 1: entanglement, transition doubts

It's only early evening; let's do another solid session of drafting
before tonight's Advent of Code puzzle release!! I really want to just
be finished with this!

13 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 6 Dec 2020 20:19:29 +0000 (12:19 -0800)]
check in

13 months ago"Sexual Dimorphism": ELTE and the limits of medicine, lean low scope
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 6 Dec 2020 01:57:34 +0000 (17:57 -0800)]
"Sexual Dimorphism": ELTE and the limits of medicine, lean low scope

As you can see from the shoveling, I'm not sure how long I want to
make the coda—this is already a long post, so maybe it shouldn't be
exhaustive on threats to the great common task, but just focus on the
case that I'm not alone, and I shouldn't be alone.

13 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 17:59:19 +0000 (09:59 -0800)]
check in

13 months agopoke
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 4 Dec 2020 07:40:46 +0000 (23:40 -0800)]
poke

13 months agopoke
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 3 Dec 2020 07:30:20 +0000 (23:30 -0800)]
poke

13 months agoimport three paragraphs about dark side epistemology
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 2 Dec 2020 04:52:32 +0000 (20:52 -0800)]
import three paragraphs about dark side epistemology

13 months agonibbling at "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 2 Dec 2020 04:52:07 +0000 (20:52 -0800)]
nibbling at "Sexual Dimorphism"

13 months agopoke at "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 1 Dec 2020 22:32:37 +0000 (14:32 -0800)]
poke at "Sexual Dimorphism"