Ultimately_Untrue_Thought.git
22 months agosocial media scrap notes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 19 Nov 2020 05:13:05 +0000 (21:13 -0800)]
social media scrap notes

22 months agonibble at "Comment on 'The Sapir–Whorf Hypothesis'"; cache rhetoric
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 18 Nov 2020 20:33:17 +0000 (12:33 -0800)]
nibble at "Comment on 'The Sapir–Whorf Hypothesis'"; cache rhetoric

22 months agolater Tuesday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism", and check in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 18 Nov 2020 07:30:22 +0000 (23:30 -0800)]
later Tuesday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism", and check in

22 months agoschedule Nixon quotepost, "Interlude XX", and "The Feeling Is Mutual"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 18 Nov 2020 07:18:44 +0000 (23:18 -0800)]
schedule Nixon quotepost, "Interlude XX", and "The Feeling Is Mutual"

22 months agoearlier Tuesday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism in the Sequences"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 17 Nov 2020 20:35:12 +0000 (12:35 -0800)]
earlier Tuesday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism in the Sequences"

I really want to finish this piece! It sets down in words so many
things I haven't been writing about quickly enough for four years!

22 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 17 Nov 2020 02:48:37 +0000 (18:48 -0800)]
check in

22 months agoSaturday haul
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 15 Nov 2020 07:32:53 +0000 (23:32 -0800)]
Saturday haul

This was not a good writing day. Social media addiction is really bad
for me and I need to be better at setting limits.

22 months agocheck in: towards a November (bottom half) blog activity burst?
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 14 Nov 2020 22:15:52 +0000 (14:15 -0800)]
check in: towards a November (bottom half) blog activity burst?

Activity on The Scintillating But Ultimately Untrue Thought is
sometimes "bursty", as I devote attention to the blog (in weeks that
my writing attention isn't focused on Less Wrong), as in April 2020
and December 2019. Maybe November 2019 will be another one of those,
capped by "Sexual Dimorphism" (if I can buckle down and finish it)?

Sometimes the motivation to backlink something from a big post
inspires small posts; for example, the reason I bothered to blog my
old stray thought about the reverse Murray rule is because I thought
it would be funny to backlink it from my Human Diversity review. The
Haskell survey data is similar: I left a Reddit comment about the 2018
survey
(https://www.reddit.com/r/haskell/comments/9yaj1w/2018_state_of_haskell_survey_results/ebm849g/),
but I want a proper post specifically for the "These days, most of the
women" line in "Sexual Dimorphism". The Sapir–Whorf paper is cool and
on-theme but also specifically would make a good backlink in the
"Harms From Misleading Training Data" effortpost on my horizon.

But my audience isn't going to be reading this Git commit message;
they're going to be reading the blog. Let's go! Already.

22 months agoinclude "link" in "Wells for Boys" linkpost slug
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 14 Nov 2020 22:11:38 +0000 (14:11 -0800)]
include "link" in "Wells for Boys" linkpost slug

Ordinarily I would go to great lengths to avoid breaking links by
changing slugs without a redirect solution, but who links to a filler
linkpost? Nobody! Nobody in the whole blogosphere has linked to this!

22 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 14 Nov 2020 18:07:56 +0000 (10:07 -0800)]
check in

22 months agoArmistice Day drafting "Sexual Dimorphism in the Sequences"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 12 Nov 2020 07:56:16 +0000 (23:56 -0800)]
Armistice Day drafting "Sexual Dimorphism in the Sequences"

22 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 12 Nov 2020 07:38:31 +0000 (23:38 -0800)]
check in

22 months agodrafting "Comment on 'The Sapir–Whorf Hypothesis'"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 12 Nov 2020 07:28:16 +0000 (23:28 -0800)]
drafting "Comment on 'The Sapir–Whorf Hypothesis'"

22 months ago"gender dysphoria" is fake and deserves scare quotes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Nov 2020 23:56:11 +0000 (15:56 -0800)]
"gender dysphoria" is fake and deserves scare quotes

22 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Nov 2020 22:42:04 +0000 (14:42 -0800)]
check in

22 months agoadd Best-Of selection to About page
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Nov 2020 20:20:09 +0000 (12:20 -0800)]
add Best-Of selection to About page

22 months agocheck in notes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Nov 2020 17:22:27 +0000 (09:22 -0800)]
check in notes

22 months ago"Sexual Dimorphism" Monday evening poke
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 10 Nov 2020 06:49:42 +0000 (22:49 -0800)]
"Sexual Dimorphism" Monday evening poke

Bluebird website is really bad for me—I want to finish this

22 months agoMonday morning drafting "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Nov 2020 20:22:16 +0000 (12:22 -0800)]
Monday morning drafting "Sexual Dimorphism"

22 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Nov 2020 07:01:11 +0000 (23:01 -0800)]
check in

22 months agodrafting "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Nov 2020 07:00:51 +0000 (23:00 -0800)]
drafting "Sexual Dimorphism"

22 months agopronoun glitch (on person! not gender! so it's OK)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Nov 2020 05:51:16 +0000 (21:51 -0800)]
pronoun glitch (on person! not gender! so it's OK)

22 months agofinish "The Feeling Is Mutual"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Nov 2020 04:26:10 +0000 (20:26 -0800)]
finish "The Feeling Is Mutual"

(I think this can basically be published whenever, but I'm not
thinking about scheduling now, I need to write "Sexual Dimorphism" in
the dying hours of this tragic Sunday)

22 months agoword choices; the badge trim refers to the social construct
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Nov 2020 07:57:52 +0000 (23:57 -0800)]
word choices; the badge trim refers to the social construct

22 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Nov 2020 07:48:10 +0000 (23:48 -0800)]
check in

22 months ago"Two Political Short Stories"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Nov 2020 07:44:15 +0000 (23:44 -0800)]
"Two Political Short Stories"

The first is from Facebook this time four years ago (thanks to the "On
This Day" notification feature!)—verbatim except with the replacement
of "Russian" for "Chinese". (At the time, we knew that Orange Man Bad,
but we didn't know that he was Putin's lapdog.)

22 months agotwo-types anchor in "... To Make Predictions"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 6 Nov 2020 06:54:24 +0000 (22:54 -0800)]
two-types anchor in "... To Make Predictions"

22 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 1 Nov 2020 06:38:32 +0000 (23:38 -0700)]
check in

22 months agoSaturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism in the Sequences"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 1 Nov 2020 06:37:10 +0000 (23:37 -0700)]
Saturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism in the Sequences"

22 months agofiller buffer: "Interlude XX"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 1 Nov 2020 06:00:47 +0000 (23:00 -0700)]
filler buffer: "Interlude XX"

22 months agocan WNBA players take down a U.S. senator??
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 31 Oct 2020 21:19:20 +0000 (14:19 -0700)]
can WNBA players take down a U.S. senator??

22 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 31 Oct 2020 06:52:06 +0000 (23:52 -0700)]
check in

22 months agonibble at "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 30 Oct 2020 22:22:21 +0000 (15:22 -0700)]
nibble at "Sexual Dimorphism"

22 months agonibble at "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 29 Oct 2020 20:26:59 +0000 (13:26 -0700)]
nibble at "Sexual Dimorphism"

22 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 29 Oct 2020 06:48:43 +0000 (23:48 -0700)]
check in

22 months ago"Sexual Dimorphism": explaining high-dimensionality, again
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 29 Oct 2020 06:44:01 +0000 (23:44 -0700)]
"Sexual Dimorphism": explaining high-dimensionality, again

(This is one of my standard points that I'm pretty practiced at
explaining—should I regret it being in the middle of a long post,
rather than making it an individually linkable standalone (like I did
for just the math part)?)

I'm pleased with the height → faces → FaceApp → morphic-adaptation
flow.

23 months ago"Sexual Dimorphism in the Sequences": lead-in to mapping and coda
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 28 Oct 2020 21:07:52 +0000 (14:07 -0700)]
"Sexual Dimorphism in the Sequences": lead-in to mapping and coda

23 months ago"Sexual Dimorphism": category of personal identity, into conclusion
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 28 Oct 2020 06:11:52 +0000 (23:11 -0700)]
"Sexual Dimorphism": category of personal identity, into conclusion

23 months ago"Sexual Dimorphism": Sorites identity
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 27 Oct 2020 17:52:04 +0000 (10:52 -0700)]
"Sexual Dimorphism": Sorites identity

23 months agocheck in notes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 27 Oct 2020 16:51:30 +0000 (09:51 -0700)]
check in notes

23 months agoSunday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism in the Sequences" 2
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 26 Oct 2020 05:29:27 +0000 (22:29 -0700)]
Sunday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism in the Sequences" 2

23 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 26 Oct 2020 05:28:59 +0000 (22:28 -0700)]
check in

23 months agoSunday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism in the Sequences" 1
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 25 Oct 2020 22:40:39 +0000 (15:40 -0700)]
Sunday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism in the Sequences" 1

23 months agocheck in notes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 25 Oct 2020 22:40:29 +0000 (15:40 -0700)]
check in notes

23 months agoSaturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism in Yudkowsky's Sequences"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 25 Oct 2020 03:51:06 +0000 (20:51 -0700)]
Saturday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism in Yudkowsky's Sequences"

23 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 24 Oct 2020 16:01:51 +0000 (09:01 -0700)]
check in

23 months ago"Sexual Dimorphism": morphic adaption unit specifications
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 23 Oct 2020 18:31:54 +0000 (11:31 -0700)]
"Sexual Dimorphism": morphic adaption unit specifications

It's always hard to start writing, and it's especially hard to start
writing about this—but it's so important. To me.

23 months agodrafting "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 22 Oct 2020 17:46:38 +0000 (10:46 -0700)]
drafting "Sexual Dimorphism"

23 months agopoke at "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 22 Oct 2020 15:14:23 +0000 (08:14 -0700)]
poke at "Sexual Dimorphism"

23 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 22 Oct 2020 04:44:19 +0000 (21:44 -0700)]
check in

23 months agosome sketching out TODO skeleton for "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 12 Oct 2020 17:08:13 +0000 (10:08 -0700)]
some sketching out TODO skeleton for "Sexual Dimorphism"

I need to do my dayjob, but it would really be nice to make a push to
finish this post soon!

23 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 12 Oct 2020 16:40:11 +0000 (09:40 -0700)]
check in

23 months agodrafting "Sexual Dimorphism in the Sequences"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 11 Oct 2020 00:34:44 +0000 (17:34 -0700)]
drafting "Sexual Dimorphism in the Sequences"

23 months agonibble at "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 10 Oct 2020 20:26:56 +0000 (13:26 -0700)]
nibble at "Sexual Dimorphism"

23 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 10 Oct 2020 17:03:37 +0000 (10:03 -0700)]
check in

23 months agoexplain comment syntax options
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 9 Oct 2020 02:57:49 +0000 (19:57 -0700)]
explain comment syntax options

23 months agocheck in notes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 7 Oct 2020 18:49:40 +0000 (11:49 -0700)]
check in notes

23 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 4 Oct 2020 06:03:49 +0000 (23:03 -0700)]
check in

23 months agodrafting "Causality of Ethnic Differences in COVID-19 Outcomes"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 3 Oct 2020 07:54:45 +0000 (00:54 -0700)]
drafting "Causality of Ethnic Differences in COVID-19 Outcomes"

23 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 2 Oct 2020 04:46:18 +0000 (21:46 -0700)]
check in

23 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 26 Sep 2020 20:00:37 +0000 (13:00 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoself-deception hash-anchor in "Human Diversity" review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 20 Sep 2020 02:42:17 +0000 (19:42 -0700)]
self-deception hash-anchor in "Human Diversity" review

2 years agoWells for Boys!
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 20 Sep 2020 02:16:51 +0000 (19:16 -0700)]
Wells for Boys!

I don't normally stoop to filler linkposts, but there's a first time
for everything? It is a thing that some blogs do?

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 17 Sep 2020 05:59:53 +0000 (22:59 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 13 Sep 2020 09:13:54 +0000 (02:13 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 9 Sep 2020 03:11:38 +0000 (20:11 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 7 Sep 2020 19:25:35 +0000 (12:25 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 6 Sep 2020 01:47:06 +0000 (18:47 -0700)]
check in

2 years agopoke
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 1 Sep 2020 06:33:34 +0000 (23:33 -0700)]
poke

2 years agostrip HTML inside <title> tags
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 1 Sep 2020 00:51:23 +0000 (17:51 -0700)]
strip HTML inside <title> tags

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 31 Aug 2020 16:17:15 +0000 (09:17 -0700)]
check in

2 years agofinish and publish "Memento Mori"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 29 Aug 2020 23:46:13 +0000 (16:46 -0700)]
finish and publish "Memento Mori"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 29 Aug 2020 17:47:16 +0000 (10:47 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoCurtis Yarvin robot cult quotepost
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 29 Aug 2020 06:04:51 +0000 (23:04 -0700)]
Curtis Yarvin robot cult quotepost

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 28 Aug 2020 22:34:03 +0000 (15:34 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoday drafting "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 27 Aug 2020 05:57:28 +0000 (22:57 -0700)]
day drafting "Sexual Dimorphism"

2 years agodown brightness, up contrast on descender handwriting sample
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 26 Aug 2020 18:31:32 +0000 (11:31 -0700)]
down brightness, up contrast on descender handwriting sample

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 26 Aug 2020 06:16:45 +0000 (23:16 -0700)]
check in

2 years agopoke at "Memento Mori"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 25 Aug 2020 07:10:00 +0000 (00:10 -0700)]
poke at "Memento Mori"

2 years agodrafting "Sexual Dimorphism in the Sequences"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 24 Aug 2020 05:21:52 +0000 (22:21 -0700)]
drafting "Sexual Dimorphism in the Sequences"

2 years agoancillary pages for captions
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 24 Aug 2020 05:19:52 +0000 (22:19 -0700)]
ancillary pages for captions

2 years agotap at "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 Aug 2020 22:23:59 +0000 (15:23 -0700)]
tap at "Sexual Dimorphism"

I've been lazy, but it's time to make something of what's left of my
Sunday

2 years agodrafting "Memento Mori"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 22 Aug 2020 08:48:20 +0000 (01:48 -0700)]
drafting "Memento Mori"

2 years agodrafting "Memento Mori"; and, check in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 21 Aug 2020 06:59:13 +0000 (23:59 -0700)]
drafting "Memento Mori"; and, check in

2 years agotap at "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 20 Aug 2020 04:25:09 +0000 (21:25 -0700)]
tap at "Sexual Dimorphism"

I had shifted more activity to the laptop because I was afraid of
being interrupted by the rolling blackouts, but it turns out that I'm
in outage block 50, and " Block 50 customers are usually on the same
circuit as a critical facility such as a hospital, police station or
fire station and are unlikely to be affected by rotating block
outages"
(https://www.pge.com/en_US/residential/outages/planning-and-preparedness/safety-and-preparedness/find-your-rotating-outage-block/find-your-rotating-outage-block.page).

2 years agotap at "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 19 Aug 2020 06:03:44 +0000 (23:03 -0700)]
tap at "Sexual Dimorphism"

2 years agodrafting "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 18 Aug 2020 07:00:15 +0000 (00:00 -0700)]
drafting "Sexual Dimorphism"

2 years agoimporting another ancillary Diary entry
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 18 Aug 2020 06:15:05 +0000 (23:15 -0700)]
importing another ancillary Diary entry

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 16 Aug 2020 04:45:07 +0000 (21:45 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in "Blindspot" draft
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 3 Aug 2020 08:06:24 +0000 (01:06 -0700)]
check in "Blindspot" draft

This unfinished short story draft is from 2011—it might be worth
finishing!

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 3 Aug 2020 08:04:45 +0000 (01:04 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 1 Aug 2020 21:13:31 +0000 (14:13 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 27 Jul 2020 03:46:38 +0000 (20:46 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in notes; nonconsensual puberty
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 25 Jul 2020 06:47:45 +0000 (23:47 -0700)]
check in notes; nonconsensual puberty

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Jul 2020 05:27:24 +0000 (22:27 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoproperly yank Irreversible Damage review stub to drafts
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 18 Jul 2020 20:58:18 +0000 (13:58 -0700)]
properly yank Irreversible Damage review stub to drafts

It's supposed to be a draft, not finished and scheduled for 1 January
2021.

2 years agocheck in; incl. Irreversible Damage review stub
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 18 Jul 2020 00:52:13 +0000 (17:52 -0700)]
check in; incl. Irreversible Damage review stub

2 years agoInterlude from the archives
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 03:55:33 +0000 (20:55 -0700)]
Interlude from the archives

Thanks to Facebook's "On This Day" notifications.

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 01:32:59 +0000 (18:32 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 13 Jul 2020 05:19:00 +0000 (22:19 -0700)]
check in