Ultimately_Untrue_Thought.git
2 years agodrafting "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 18 Aug 2020 07:00:15 +0000 (00:00 -0700)]
drafting "Sexual Dimorphism"

2 years agoimporting another ancillary Diary entry
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 18 Aug 2020 06:15:05 +0000 (23:15 -0700)]
importing another ancillary Diary entry

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 16 Aug 2020 04:45:07 +0000 (21:45 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in "Blindspot" draft
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 3 Aug 2020 08:06:24 +0000 (01:06 -0700)]
check in "Blindspot" draft

This unfinished short story draft is from 2011—it might be worth
finishing!

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 3 Aug 2020 08:04:45 +0000 (01:04 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 1 Aug 2020 21:13:31 +0000 (14:13 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 27 Jul 2020 03:46:38 +0000 (20:46 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in notes; nonconsensual puberty
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 25 Jul 2020 06:47:45 +0000 (23:47 -0700)]
check in notes; nonconsensual puberty

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Jul 2020 05:27:24 +0000 (22:27 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoproperly yank Irreversible Damage review stub to drafts
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 18 Jul 2020 20:58:18 +0000 (13:58 -0700)]
properly yank Irreversible Damage review stub to drafts

It's supposed to be a draft, not finished and scheduled for 1 January
2021.

2 years agocheck in; incl. Irreversible Damage review stub
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 18 Jul 2020 00:52:13 +0000 (17:52 -0700)]
check in; incl. Irreversible Damage review stub

2 years agoInterlude from the archives
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 03:55:33 +0000 (20:55 -0700)]
Interlude from the archives

Thanks to Facebook's "On This Day" notifications.

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 01:32:59 +0000 (18:32 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 13 Jul 2020 05:19:00 +0000 (22:19 -0700)]
check in

2 years agodon't even Facebook
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 11 Jul 2020 20:50:59 +0000 (13:50 -0700)]
don't even Facebook

2 years agogearing towards "Sexual Dimorphism"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 9 Jul 2020 08:07:48 +0000 (01:07 -0700)]
gearing towards "Sexual Dimorphism"

2 years agocheck in notes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 9 Jul 2020 03:29:42 +0000 (20:29 -0700)]
check in notes

2 years agoupgrade links on "The Social Construction of Reality"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 9 Jul 2020 03:29:16 +0000 (20:29 -0700)]
upgrade links on "The Social Construction of Reality"

2 years ago"Revenge, revenge, revenge—is the one thing on your mind"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 5 Jul 2020 19:33:52 +0000 (12:33 -0700)]
"Revenge, revenge, revenge—is the one thing on your mind"

2 years agocheck in (feat. congenital adrenal hyperplasia)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 4 Jul 2020 07:32:56 +0000 (00:32 -0700)]
check in (feat. congenital adrenal hyperplasia)

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 3 Jul 2020 18:41:22 +0000 (11:41 -0700)]
check in

2 years agopriorities
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 1 Jul 2020 06:38:22 +0000 (23:38 -0700)]
priorities

2 years agofinish and publish "Oceans Rise, Empires Fall"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 1 Jul 2020 06:16:25 +0000 (23:16 -0700)]
finish and publish "Oceans Rise, Empires Fall"

2 years agodrafting "Oceans Rise, Empires Fall"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 30 Jun 2020 18:55:33 +0000 (11:55 -0700)]
drafting "Oceans Rise, Empires Fall"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 30 Jun 2020 17:38:25 +0000 (10:38 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoreplace Slate Star links with last Internet Archive version
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 30 Jun 2020 03:24:18 +0000 (20:24 -0700)]
replace Slate Star links with last Internet Archive version

2 years agocheck in notes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 30 Jun 2020 03:00:54 +0000 (20:00 -0700)]
check in notes

2 years agotwo more "Human Diversity" anchors
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 27 Jun 2020 02:53:01 +0000 (19:53 -0700)]
two more "Human Diversity" anchors

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 24 Jun 2020 05:59:35 +0000 (22:59 -0700)]
check in

2 years agodrafting "Oceans Rise, Empires Fall"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 22 Jun 2020 06:49:02 +0000 (23:49 -0700)]
drafting "Oceans Rise, Empires Fall"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 21 Jun 2020 04:01:13 +0000 (21:01 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in notes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 19 Jun 2020 23:25:41 +0000 (16:25 -0700)]
check in notes

2 years agoanchor for "Schelling point for preventing group conflicts"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 19 Jun 2020 18:34:55 +0000 (11:34 -0700)]
anchor for "Schelling point for preventing group conflicts"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 13 Jun 2020 18:37:23 +0000 (11:37 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 7 Jun 2020 20:21:00 +0000 (13:21 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 30 May 2020 18:36:07 +0000 (11:36 -0700)]
check in

2 years agonotes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 24 May 2020 17:50:08 +0000 (10:50 -0700)]
notes

2 years agolink to ancillary "Discover Related Products" image
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 24 May 2020 16:55:37 +0000 (09:55 -0700)]
link to ancillary "Discover Related Products" image

2 years agodelete notes that belong ... somewhere else
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 23 May 2020 03:25:10 +0000 (20:25 -0700)]
delete notes that belong ... somewhere else

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 23 May 2020 03:01:10 +0000 (20:01 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 16 May 2020 15:23:37 +0000 (08:23 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 14 May 2020 03:20:56 +0000 (20:20 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in Polly Pocket images
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 14 May 2020 03:19:31 +0000 (20:19 -0700)]
check in Polly Pocket images

I don't have a particular need of these for the blog, but I want to
host them here.

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 11 May 2020 05:27:59 +0000 (22:27 -0700)]
check in

2 years agostub: "Ideology Is the General Case" (working title)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 11 May 2020 04:54:57 +0000 (21:54 -0700)]
stub: "Ideology Is the General Case" (working title)

2 years agostart drafting "A Previous Life's War"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 11 May 2020 04:54:13 +0000 (21:54 -0700)]
start drafting "A Previous Life's War"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 10 May 2020 07:00:30 +0000 (00:00 -0700)]
check in

2 years agogearing up to broaden the topic scope of the blog to porn criticism
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 10 May 2020 06:37:57 +0000 (23:37 -0700)]
gearing up to broaden the topic scope of the blog to porn criticism

To clarify: not criticism of the existence of porn, as radfems
do. Rather, as in literary criticism. Featuring some of my own forays
into the genre.

2 years agogearing up for "Sexual Dimorphism in Yudkowsky's Sequences"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 10 May 2020 06:00:35 +0000 (23:00 -0700)]
gearing up for "Sexual Dimorphism in Yudkowsky's Sequences"

2 years agohidden pages for Diary entries 42, 53, and 296
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 10 May 2020 00:30:46 +0000 (17:30 -0700)]
hidden pages for Diary entries 42, 53, and 296

I mentioned drawing on my Diary in "A Common Misunderstanding", and I
want to mention it at least twice more in passing in my
AGP-and-Yudkowskian-rationalism post (as a receipt that I had heard of
Yudkowsky before, and for first time I confessed to AGP even to my
Diary). But as long as I'm mentioning some of my Diary entries, I
might as well put up unindexed pages with the actual text. They're not
particularly interesting, but I write in a hyperlink-heavy register
that assumes that ancillary links are unobtrusive.

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 9 May 2020 16:49:32 +0000 (09:49 -0700)]
check in

2 years agopublish Human Diversity review?!
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 28 Apr 2020 17:22:01 +0000 (10:22 -0700)]
publish Human Diversity review?!

Hope I don't regret this!

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 28 Apr 2020 07:28:53 +0000 (00:28 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity review edit pass
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 28 Apr 2020 07:28:06 +0000 (00:28 -0700)]
Human Diversity review edit pass

2 years agosoften the "shared environment doesn't" moral
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 28 Apr 2020 06:21:51 +0000 (23:21 -0700)]
soften the "shared environment doesn't" moral

Thanks to my pre-readers for pushing back on this!

2 years agoenqueue "Peering Through Reverent Fingers" and "Teleology"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 28 Apr 2020 05:45:12 +0000 (22:45 -0700)]
enqueue "Peering Through Reverent Fingers" and "Teleology"

2 years agolink the classic complaint against PHP
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 27 Apr 2020 06:05:04 +0000 (23:05 -0700)]
link the classic complaint against PHP

2 years agoHuman Diversity review editing
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 26 Apr 2020 06:59:24 +0000 (23:59 -0700)]
Human Diversity review editing

I didn't make a full pass (Firefox Reader View says this is a 61–78
minute read!), but maybe I can send this out to potential pre-readers
even as the later 7/10ths are still rough.

2 years agoHuman Diversity review gapless rough draft!!
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 26 Apr 2020 06:08:07 +0000 (23:08 -0700)]
Human Diversity review gapless rough draft!!

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 26 Apr 2020 04:35:48 +0000 (21:35 -0700)]
check in

2 years ago"informed" and "informative" mean different things
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 26 Apr 2020 04:09:42 +0000 (21:09 -0700)]
"informed" and "informative" mean different things

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 23 Apr 2020 07:28:18 +0000 (00:28 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 21 Apr 2020 07:53:29 +0000 (00:53 -0700)]
check in

2 years ago"Beyond the Binary" stub
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 21 Apr 2020 07:49:21 +0000 (00:49 -0700)]
"Beyond the Binary" stub

2 years agoHuman Diversity: rework sex d's, farmer/forager, smart coalitions
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 20 Apr 2020 04:17:18 +0000 (21:17 -0700)]
Human Diversity: rework sex d's, farmer/forager, smart coalitions

2 years agoHuman Diversity: 63 genders, purple invaders, fine-grained stereotypes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Apr 2020 23:45:12 +0000 (16:45 -0700)]
Human Diversity: 63 genders, purple invaders, fine-grained stereotypes

2 years agoexceptional-case tag sorting to treat æ ligature as "ae"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Apr 2020 23:01:46 +0000 (16:01 -0700)]
exceptional-case tag sorting to treat æ ligature as "ae"

I would hope that Unicode has standardized support for this need?—but
if I couldn't quickly find it, this will do.

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: nibbling at items
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Apr 2020 21:04:53 +0000 (14:04 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: nibbling at items

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: itemize finishing push
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Apr 2020 16:39:15 +0000 (09:39 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: itemize finishing push

Here's a list of 13 more things I want to hit with this post. If I
diligently tackle them one by one, I might be able to get a draft out
to my prereaders tonight?!

2 years agoHuman Diversity: line up for finishing push
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Apr 2020 07:18:17 +0000 (00:18 -0700)]
Human Diversity: line up for finishing push

It's been two months; I'm really aching to just push this thing out
the door.

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Apr 2020 02:08:18 +0000 (19:08 -0700)]
check in

2 years agostore Reddit icon in theme directory
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Apr 2020 00:05:47 +0000 (17:05 -0700)]
store Reddit icon in theme directory

2 years agocomment counter links!
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 18 Apr 2020 23:41:16 +0000 (16:41 -0700)]
comment counter links!

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: featureless atoms, denial slippage
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 15 Apr 2020 19:14:59 +0000 (12:14 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: featureless atoms, denial slippage

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 15 Apr 2020 16:26:38 +0000 (09:26 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: hug the query, the value of my life
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 14 Apr 2020 19:10:48 +0000 (12:10 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: hug the query, the value of my life

2 years agoHuman Diversity review Monday drafting (morning session)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 13 Apr 2020 18:04:00 +0000 (11:04 -0700)]
Human Diversity review Monday drafting (morning session)

2 years agodon't `console.log` in production!!
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 13 Apr 2020 05:31:57 +0000 (22:31 -0700)]
don't `console.log` in production!!

2 years agorecent comments!
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 13 Apr 2020 05:29:02 +0000 (22:29 -0700)]
recent comments!

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 12 Apr 2020 22:18:15 +0000 (15:18 -0700)]
check in

2 years agodrafting "The Feeling Is Mutual"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 12 Apr 2020 22:17:37 +0000 (15:17 -0700)]
drafting "The Feeling Is Mutual"

The stub was going in the wrong direction.

2 years agofix Reddit share URL; driveby star, driveby trim dead code
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 12 Apr 2020 22:03:16 +0000 (15:03 -0700)]
fix Reddit share URL; driveby star, driveby trim dead code

I would have thought the SITEURL template variable would faithfully
reflect my Pelican SITEURL setting, but instead it was getting
populated as "../../.."?! (A relative-URLs setting??—the root is
"three levels up" from `YYYY/Mon/post-slug/`.) Hardcoding it should be
fine; the site isn't going anywhere (until the virus kills me).

While we're here, get that disgraceful hyphen out of the page
title. And, prune some conditional markup that misled my past self
into thinking that SITEURL would work.

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: discuss "Everyday Base Rates (Sex Stereotypes)"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 12 Apr 2020 05:56:49 +0000 (22:56 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: discuss "Everyday Base Rates (Sex Stereotypes)"

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: naïve egalitarianism and the ball-hiders
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 11 Apr 2020 22:34:41 +0000 (15:34 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: naïve egalitarianism and the ball-hiders

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 11 Apr 2020 03:48:42 +0000 (20:48 -0700)]
check in

2 years agostub: "The Feeling Is Mutual"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 8 Apr 2020 04:20:33 +0000 (21:20 -0700)]
stub: "The Feeling Is Mutual"

2 years agoMonday morning stab (poke) at Human Diversity review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 6 Apr 2020 16:50:22 +0000 (09:50 -0700)]
Monday morning stab (poke) at Human Diversity review

Need to finish this thing soon!!

2 years agonot everything is Markdown
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 6 Apr 2020 05:45:29 +0000 (22:45 -0700)]
not everything is Markdown

2 years agoschedule "The Reverse Murray Rule"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 6 Apr 2020 05:29:54 +0000 (22:29 -0700)]
schedule "The Reverse Murray Rule"

2 years agoannounce comments
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 6 Apr 2020 05:19:01 +0000 (22:19 -0700)]
announce comments

2 years agoIsso comment server setup!
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 6 Apr 2020 01:23:26 +0000 (18:23 -0700)]
Isso comment server setup!

I sure hope I don't regret this!

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 5 Apr 2020 07:11:19 +0000 (00:11 -0700)]
check in

2 years agodrafting "Teleology"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 5 Apr 2020 07:09:25 +0000 (00:09 -0700)]
drafting "Teleology"

2 years agodrafting "Peering Through Reverent Fingers"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 5 Apr 2020 07:08:49 +0000 (00:08 -0700)]
drafting "Peering Through Reverent Fingers"

2 years agodrafting "The Reverse Murray Rule"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 5 Apr 2020 07:08:15 +0000 (00:08 -0700)]
drafting "The Reverse Murray Rule"

2 years agoput short slug in Simple Footnotes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 5 Apr 2020 05:13:24 +0000 (22:13 -0700)]
put short slug in Simple Footnotes

Currently, "Does General Intelligence ...?" and "Reply to Ozymandias
on Fully Consensual Gender" are both on the front page, and the
earlier-on-the-page footnote fragments clobber later ones of the same
number. Including part of the post slug in the fragment solves the
problem, and I'm going all the way to five segments because you could
imagine two "Reply to Author on Topic" posts being on the same page
(even though I'm likely to abandon this plugin (for future posts, or
altogether) because native-Markdown footnotes (those are a thing!!)
are friendlier to read and write than the `[ref]` notation.

2 years agoedit dimensions of Reddit share SVG
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 5 Apr 2020 02:04:40 +0000 (19:04 -0700)]
edit dimensions of Reddit share SVG

I already had a "height" directive in the HTML to make it display the
same height as the Twitter button, but Firefox's "reader mode" was
showing the enormous full-size version. It's neat that you can edit
SVGs as text!

2 years agobetter wordcount for "... to Make Predictions" ref in "Reply to the Unit"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 4 Apr 2020 23:11:05 +0000 (16:11 -0700)]
better wordcount for "... to Make Predictions" ref in "Reply to the Unit"

I don't know where I got the "7500" from? When I copy the text
(incl. footnotes) into Emacs and M-= it, I get 6558, and `wc` gives
6522—maybe some other algorithm I used at the time counted "http://"
as a word when these didn't?

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 4 Apr 2020 21:12:55 +0000 (14:12 -0700)]
check in

2 years agobegin "Jesus Two"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 1 Apr 2020 07:27:17 +0000 (00:27 -0700)]
begin "Jesus Two"