Ultimately_Untrue_Thought.git
2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 28 Apr 2020 07:28:53 +0000 (00:28 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity review edit pass
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 28 Apr 2020 07:28:06 +0000 (00:28 -0700)]
Human Diversity review edit pass

2 years agosoften the "shared environment doesn't" moral
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 28 Apr 2020 06:21:51 +0000 (23:21 -0700)]
soften the "shared environment doesn't" moral

Thanks to my pre-readers for pushing back on this!

2 years agoenqueue "Peering Through Reverent Fingers" and "Teleology"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 28 Apr 2020 05:45:12 +0000 (22:45 -0700)]
enqueue "Peering Through Reverent Fingers" and "Teleology"

2 years agolink the classic complaint against PHP
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 27 Apr 2020 06:05:04 +0000 (23:05 -0700)]
link the classic complaint against PHP

2 years agoHuman Diversity review editing
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 26 Apr 2020 06:59:24 +0000 (23:59 -0700)]
Human Diversity review editing

I didn't make a full pass (Firefox Reader View says this is a 61–78
minute read!), but maybe I can send this out to potential pre-readers
even as the later 7/10ths are still rough.

2 years agoHuman Diversity review gapless rough draft!!
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 26 Apr 2020 06:08:07 +0000 (23:08 -0700)]
Human Diversity review gapless rough draft!!

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 26 Apr 2020 04:35:48 +0000 (21:35 -0700)]
check in

2 years ago"informed" and "informative" mean different things
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 26 Apr 2020 04:09:42 +0000 (21:09 -0700)]
"informed" and "informative" mean different things

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 23 Apr 2020 07:28:18 +0000 (00:28 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 21 Apr 2020 07:53:29 +0000 (00:53 -0700)]
check in

2 years ago"Beyond the Binary" stub
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 21 Apr 2020 07:49:21 +0000 (00:49 -0700)]
"Beyond the Binary" stub

2 years agoHuman Diversity: rework sex d's, farmer/forager, smart coalitions
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 20 Apr 2020 04:17:18 +0000 (21:17 -0700)]
Human Diversity: rework sex d's, farmer/forager, smart coalitions

2 years agoHuman Diversity: 63 genders, purple invaders, fine-grained stereotypes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Apr 2020 23:45:12 +0000 (16:45 -0700)]
Human Diversity: 63 genders, purple invaders, fine-grained stereotypes

2 years agoexceptional-case tag sorting to treat æ ligature as "ae"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Apr 2020 23:01:46 +0000 (16:01 -0700)]
exceptional-case tag sorting to treat æ ligature as "ae"

I would hope that Unicode has standardized support for this need?—but
if I couldn't quickly find it, this will do.

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: nibbling at items
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Apr 2020 21:04:53 +0000 (14:04 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: nibbling at items

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: itemize finishing push
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Apr 2020 16:39:15 +0000 (09:39 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: itemize finishing push

Here's a list of 13 more things I want to hit with this post. If I
diligently tackle them one by one, I might be able to get a draft out
to my prereaders tonight?!

2 years agoHuman Diversity: line up for finishing push
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Apr 2020 07:18:17 +0000 (00:18 -0700)]
Human Diversity: line up for finishing push

It's been two months; I'm really aching to just push this thing out
the door.

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Apr 2020 02:08:18 +0000 (19:08 -0700)]
check in

2 years agostore Reddit icon in theme directory
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Apr 2020 00:05:47 +0000 (17:05 -0700)]
store Reddit icon in theme directory

2 years agocomment counter links!
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 18 Apr 2020 23:41:16 +0000 (16:41 -0700)]
comment counter links!

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: featureless atoms, denial slippage
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 15 Apr 2020 19:14:59 +0000 (12:14 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: featureless atoms, denial slippage

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 15 Apr 2020 16:26:38 +0000 (09:26 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: hug the query, the value of my life
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 14 Apr 2020 19:10:48 +0000 (12:10 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: hug the query, the value of my life

2 years agoHuman Diversity review Monday drafting (morning session)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 13 Apr 2020 18:04:00 +0000 (11:04 -0700)]
Human Diversity review Monday drafting (morning session)

2 years agodon't `console.log` in production!!
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 13 Apr 2020 05:31:57 +0000 (22:31 -0700)]
don't `console.log` in production!!

2 years agorecent comments!
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 13 Apr 2020 05:29:02 +0000 (22:29 -0700)]
recent comments!

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 12 Apr 2020 22:18:15 +0000 (15:18 -0700)]
check in

2 years agodrafting "The Feeling Is Mutual"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 12 Apr 2020 22:17:37 +0000 (15:17 -0700)]
drafting "The Feeling Is Mutual"

The stub was going in the wrong direction.

2 years agofix Reddit share URL; driveby star, driveby trim dead code
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 12 Apr 2020 22:03:16 +0000 (15:03 -0700)]
fix Reddit share URL; driveby star, driveby trim dead code

I would have thought the SITEURL template variable would faithfully
reflect my Pelican SITEURL setting, but instead it was getting
populated as "../../.."?! (A relative-URLs setting??—the root is
"three levels up" from `YYYY/Mon/post-slug/`.) Hardcoding it should be
fine; the site isn't going anywhere (until the virus kills me).

While we're here, get that disgraceful hyphen out of the page
title. And, prune some conditional markup that misled my past self
into thinking that SITEURL would work.

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: discuss "Everyday Base Rates (Sex Stereotypes)"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 12 Apr 2020 05:56:49 +0000 (22:56 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: discuss "Everyday Base Rates (Sex Stereotypes)"

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: naïve egalitarianism and the ball-hiders
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 11 Apr 2020 22:34:41 +0000 (15:34 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: naïve egalitarianism and the ball-hiders

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 11 Apr 2020 03:48:42 +0000 (20:48 -0700)]
check in

2 years agostub: "The Feeling Is Mutual"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 8 Apr 2020 04:20:33 +0000 (21:20 -0700)]
stub: "The Feeling Is Mutual"

2 years agoMonday morning stab (poke) at Human Diversity review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 6 Apr 2020 16:50:22 +0000 (09:50 -0700)]
Monday morning stab (poke) at Human Diversity review

Need to finish this thing soon!!

2 years agonot everything is Markdown
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 6 Apr 2020 05:45:29 +0000 (22:45 -0700)]
not everything is Markdown

2 years agoschedule "The Reverse Murray Rule"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 6 Apr 2020 05:29:54 +0000 (22:29 -0700)]
schedule "The Reverse Murray Rule"

2 years agoannounce comments
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 6 Apr 2020 05:19:01 +0000 (22:19 -0700)]
announce comments

2 years agoIsso comment server setup!
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 6 Apr 2020 01:23:26 +0000 (18:23 -0700)]
Isso comment server setup!

I sure hope I don't regret this!

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 5 Apr 2020 07:11:19 +0000 (00:11 -0700)]
check in

2 years agodrafting "Teleology"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 5 Apr 2020 07:09:25 +0000 (00:09 -0700)]
drafting "Teleology"

2 years agodrafting "Peering Through Reverent Fingers"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 5 Apr 2020 07:08:49 +0000 (00:08 -0700)]
drafting "Peering Through Reverent Fingers"

2 years agodrafting "The Reverse Murray Rule"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 5 Apr 2020 07:08:15 +0000 (00:08 -0700)]
drafting "The Reverse Murray Rule"

2 years agoput short slug in Simple Footnotes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 5 Apr 2020 05:13:24 +0000 (22:13 -0700)]
put short slug in Simple Footnotes

Currently, "Does General Intelligence ...?" and "Reply to Ozymandias
on Fully Consensual Gender" are both on the front page, and the
earlier-on-the-page footnote fragments clobber later ones of the same
number. Including part of the post slug in the fragment solves the
problem, and I'm going all the way to five segments because you could
imagine two "Reply to Author on Topic" posts being on the same page
(even though I'm likely to abandon this plugin (for future posts, or
altogether) because native-Markdown footnotes (those are a thing!!)
are friendlier to read and write than the `[ref]` notation.

2 years agoedit dimensions of Reddit share SVG
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 5 Apr 2020 02:04:40 +0000 (19:04 -0700)]
edit dimensions of Reddit share SVG

I already had a "height" directive in the HTML to make it display the
same height as the Twitter button, but Firefox's "reader mode" was
showing the enormous full-size version. It's neat that you can edit
SVGs as text!

2 years agobetter wordcount for "... to Make Predictions" ref in "Reply to the Unit"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 4 Apr 2020 23:11:05 +0000 (16:11 -0700)]
better wordcount for "... to Make Predictions" ref in "Reply to the Unit"

I don't know where I got the "7500" from? When I copy the text
(incl. footnotes) into Emacs and M-= it, I get 6558, and `wc` gives
6522—maybe some other algorithm I used at the time counted "http://"
as a word when these didn't?

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 4 Apr 2020 21:12:55 +0000 (14:12 -0700)]
check in

2 years agobegin "Jesus Two"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 1 Apr 2020 07:27:17 +0000 (00:27 -0700)]
begin "Jesus Two"

2 years agobegin "The Reverse Murray Rule"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 1 Apr 2020 07:27:02 +0000 (00:27 -0700)]
begin "The Reverse Murray Rule"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 1 Apr 2020 04:02:03 +0000 (21:02 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in; incl. "Hrunkner Unnerby" stub
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 1 Apr 2020 03:40:29 +0000 (20:40 -0700)]
check in; incl. "Hrunkner Unnerby" stub

2 years agoHuman Diversity: my excuse
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 30 Mar 2020 07:03:53 +0000 (00:03 -0700)]
Human Diversity: my excuse

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: the item characteristic curve
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 29 Mar 2020 05:17:21 +0000 (22:17 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: the item characteristic curve

2 years agocheck in (including pruning further response to Ozy for salvage)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 28 Mar 2020 19:27:25 +0000 (12:27 -0700)]
check in (including pruning further response to Ozy for salvage)

2 years agoHuman Diversity: the meaning of test bias
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 26 Mar 2020 06:15:56 +0000 (23:15 -0700)]
Human Diversity: the meaning of test bias

2 years agonotes from "Bias in Mental Testing"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 26 Mar 2020 04:20:27 +0000 (21:20 -0700)]
notes from "Bias in Mental Testing"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 25 Mar 2020 17:27:08 +0000 (10:27 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity review—population differences in g: causal hypotheses
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 24 Mar 2020 18:44:18 +0000 (11:44 -0700)]
Human Diversity review—population differences in g: causal hypotheses

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 24 Mar 2020 16:43:46 +0000 (09:43 -0700)]
check in

2 years agolink to post revision history; and, compact Reddit share button
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 23 Mar 2020 06:41:59 +0000 (23:41 -0700)]
link to post revision history; and, compact Reddit share button

I love having my blog in Git! I should do this for my real-name blog!

The Reddit widget doesn't even seem to be working right (I think it's
supposed to display the score of posts that have been submitted)?

2 years agolink to Archives page grouped by month; drop Trigger Warning page
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 23 Mar 2020 06:21:28 +0000 (23:21 -0700)]
link to Archives page grouped by month; drop Trigger Warning page

2 years agofix busted italics
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 23 Mar 2020 06:07:52 +0000 (23:07 -0700)]
fix busted italics

2 years agopublish "Relative Gratitude and the Great Plague of 2020"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 23 Mar 2020 05:21:23 +0000 (22:21 -0700)]
publish "Relative Gratitude and the Great Plague of 2020"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 22 Mar 2020 06:04:43 +0000 (23:04 -0700)]
check in

2 years agodrafting "Relative Gratitude and ..."
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 22 Mar 2020 06:03:20 +0000 (23:03 -0700)]
drafting "Relative Gratitude and ..."

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 21 Mar 2020 17:16:14 +0000 (10:16 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: d=1 meaning, my heritage
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 19 Mar 2020 18:18:22 +0000 (11:18 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: d=1 meaning, my heritage

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: the axis
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 19 Mar 2020 06:33:03 +0000 (23:33 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: the axis

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: more on Schelling, creep towards the elephant
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 18 Mar 2020 16:28:58 +0000 (09:28 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: more on Schelling, creep towards the elephant

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: doing it on purpose
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 18 Mar 2020 07:08:48 +0000 (00:08 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: doing it on purpose

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 16 Mar 2020 03:59:45 +0000 (20:59 -0700)]
check in

2 years agodrafting Human Diversity review (Saturday)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 15 Mar 2020 05:40:01 +0000 (22:40 -0700)]
drafting Human Diversity review (Saturday)

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 14 Mar 2020 20:46:36 +0000 (13:46 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity review drafting (Thursday morning): appeal of the slate
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 12 Mar 2020 16:56:06 +0000 (09:56 -0700)]
Human Diversity review drafting (Thursday morning): appeal of the slate

2 years agopoking at Human Diversity review draft
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 12 Mar 2020 06:57:01 +0000 (23:57 -0700)]
poking at Human Diversity review draft

2 years agodrafting Human Diversity review (Wednesday morning)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Mar 2020 18:01:52 +0000 (11:01 -0700)]
drafting Human Diversity review (Wednesday morning)

2 years agodrafting Human Diversity review (Tuesday)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Mar 2020 06:33:42 +0000 (23:33 -0700)]
drafting Human Diversity review (Tuesday)

2 years agodrafting Human Diversity review (Monday)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 10 Mar 2020 17:22:14 +0000 (10:22 -0700)]
drafting Human Diversity review (Monday)

2 years agodrafting Human Diversity review (Sunday)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Mar 2020 16:09:42 +0000 (09:09 -0700)]
drafting Human Diversity review (Sunday)

2 years agodraft speculative pitch of Human Diversity review to Less Wrong
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Mar 2020 16:09:04 +0000 (09:09 -0700)]
draft speculative pitch of Human Diversity review to Less Wrong

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: outline the hazardous/irrelevant second part
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Mar 2020 22:58:08 +0000 (15:58 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: outline the hazardous/irrelevant second part

I don't think my draft is hitting points in the right order (and this
is worth getting right), so tried I sketching out some bullet points
to keep me on track.

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Mar 2020 01:14:17 +0000 (17:14 -0800)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity review drafting Thursday "lunch": inference
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 5 Mar 2020 20:54:19 +0000 (12:54 -0800)]
Human Diversity review drafting Thursday "lunch": inference

2 years agoThursday morning pre-dayjob Human Diversity review drafting
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 5 Mar 2020 16:59:29 +0000 (08:59 -0800)]
Thursday morning pre-dayjob Human Diversity review drafting

2 years agoHuman Diversity drafting and notes-shovel
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 5 Mar 2020 04:41:05 +0000 (20:41 -0800)]
Human Diversity drafting and notes-shovel

2 years agoHuman Diversity pre-dayjob Tuesday review drafting: positioning
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 3 Mar 2020 17:07:44 +0000 (09:07 -0800)]
Human Diversity pre-dayjob Tuesday review drafting: positioning

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 3 Mar 2020 16:08:50 +0000 (08:08 -0800)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity review Monday pre-dayjob drafting: topology is crazy
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 2 Mar 2020 17:01:47 +0000 (09:01 -0800)]
Human Diversity review Monday pre-dayjob drafting: topology is crazy

Hopefully I'll be able to write more today! But I need to do some
dayjob work first!

2 years agoHuman Diversity review drafting: algebraic topology
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 2 Mar 2020 05:40:26 +0000 (21:40 -0800)]
Human Diversity review drafting: algebraic topology

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 2 Mar 2020 05:40:11 +0000 (21:40 -0800)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity after-Leap Day drafting session 1: aspirations
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 1 Mar 2020 22:29:04 +0000 (14:29 -0800)]
Human Diversity after-Leap Day drafting session 1: aspirations

2 years agopublish "If in Some Smothering Dreams" and "Cloud Vision"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 24 Feb 2020 08:04:01 +0000 (00:04 -0800)]
publish "If in Some Smothering Dreams" and "Cloud Vision"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 24 Feb 2020 06:49:19 +0000 (22:49 -0800)]
check in

2 years ago2020 year in copyright footer
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 Feb 2020 17:39:20 +0000 (09:39 -0800)]
2020 year in copyright footer

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 Feb 2020 07:11:53 +0000 (23:11 -0800)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity review—Part III: ACE model, polygenic scores
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 Feb 2020 07:02:12 +0000 (23:02 -0800)]
Human Diversity review—Part III: ACE model, polygenic scores

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 Feb 2020 01:20:16 +0000 (17:20 -0800)]
check in

2 years agosplit Sequencing backstory off from "I Tell Myself ..."
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 Feb 2020 01:14:30 +0000 (17:14 -0800)]
split Sequencing backstory off from "I Tell Myself ..."

The part that's just about how classic OB/LW formed my views will be a
lot easier to finish, and doesn't need pseudonyms (because there's no
way to credibly construe it as an attack, whereas the
institutional-betrayal narrative could be), so it can be its own post.

Instead of "Great Teacher"/"Popular Author" as the pseudonyms for
Yudkowsky/Alexander (respectively), I've decided I like "Robert
Stadler"/"Arthur Blair". If you're interested enough to be reading the
commit messages (!?) of my blog, you can probably figure out the
references.

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: altitude, introducing the ACE model
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 22 Feb 2020 23:34:31 +0000 (15:34 -0800)]
Human Diversity review: altitude, introducing the ACE model

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: drop TODO flags, population diff meanings
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 22 Feb 2020 22:55:23 +0000 (14:55 -0800)]
Human Diversity review: drop TODO flags, population diff meanings