Ultimately_Untrue_Thought.git
2 years agoCSS workaround for Pygments bug (Python 3 can too lex Unicode variables)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 2 Sep 2019 05:49:17 +0000 (22:49 -0700)]
CSS workaround for Pygments bug (Python 3 can too lex Unicode variables)

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 2 Sep 2019 05:48:54 +0000 (22:48 -0700)]
check in

2 years agopublish "Does General Intelligence ...?"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 2 Sep 2019 05:48:22 +0000 (22:48 -0700)]
publish "Does General Intelligence ...?"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 1 Sep 2019 18:50:38 +0000 (11:50 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in the script for "Does General Intelligence ...?"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 31 Aug 2019 17:13:31 +0000 (10:13 -0700)]
check in the script for "Does General Intelligence ...?"

2 years agodraft: "Does General Intelligence Deflate ...?"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 31 Aug 2019 16:55:29 +0000 (09:55 -0700)]
draft: "Does General Intelligence Deflate ...?"

I sent this as a message to SEXNET (maybe someone—maybe even del
Guidice himself—will have comments?), but it might also make a good
blog post later.

2 years agofinish and schedule "A Love ..."
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 21 Aug 2019 08:07:08 +0000 (01:07 -0700)]
finish and schedule "A Love ..."

2 years ago"psychological" → "personality"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 21 Aug 2019 05:56:05 +0000 (22:56 -0700)]
"psychological" → "personality"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 21 Aug 2019 04:55:51 +0000 (21:55 -0700)]
check in

2 years agopublish "The Social Construction of Reality and ..."
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 12 Aug 2019 06:58:47 +0000 (23:58 -0700)]
publish "The Social Construction of Reality and ..."

2 years agodrafting "The Social Construction of Reality and ..."
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 12 Aug 2019 06:49:21 +0000 (23:49 -0700)]
drafting "The Social Construction of Reality and ..."

2 years agodrafting "A Love ..."
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 12 Aug 2019 04:12:56 +0000 (21:12 -0700)]
drafting "A Love ..."

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 11 Aug 2019 16:56:23 +0000 (09:56 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 5 Aug 2019 06:00:10 +0000 (23:00 -0700)]
check in

2 years agodrafting "The Social Construction of Reality ..."
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 5 Aug 2019 05:59:21 +0000 (22:59 -0700)]
drafting "The Social Construction of Reality ..."

2 years agoTwitter suicide cache
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 4 Aug 2019 23:06:06 +0000 (16:06 -0700)]
Twitter suicide cache

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 4 Aug 2019 05:55:40 +0000 (22:55 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 3 Aug 2019 17:40:54 +0000 (10:40 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 15 Jul 2019 01:19:56 +0000 (18:19 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 14 Jul 2019 01:28:35 +0000 (18:28 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 1 Jul 2019 07:02:29 +0000 (00:02 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 24 Jun 2019 06:03:17 +0000 (23:03 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 17 Jun 2019 05:32:03 +0000 (22:32 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 17 Jun 2019 01:27:17 +0000 (18:27 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 28 May 2019 06:29:25 +0000 (23:29 -0700)]
check in

2 years ago"The Source of Our Power"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 28 May 2019 06:29:04 +0000 (23:29 -0700)]
"The Source of Our Power"

2 years agocheck in: hopefully it for May
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 13 May 2019 00:04:03 +0000 (17:04 -0700)]
check in: hopefully it for May

May is Math and Wellness Month and I don't want to be thinking about
all this, so hopefully I've written enough notes down such that I feel
expurgiated—I don't have to keep obsessively thinking about the thing
if I can trust that I've written down enough notes that I can pick up
again in June when I'm healthier and less heartbroken

(Times this commit has been `--amend`ed counter: 4)

2 years ago"Hiatus"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 2 May 2019 05:12:45 +0000 (22:12 -0700)]
"Hiatus"

2 years agodrafting "'I Tell Myself'"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 30 Apr 2019 06:13:10 +0000 (23:13 -0700)]
drafting "'I Tell Myself'"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 29 Apr 2019 05:05:22 +0000 (22:05 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 27 Apr 2019 21:00:49 +0000 (14:00 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 27 Apr 2019 01:03:05 +0000 (18:03 -0700)]
check in

2 years ago"Where to Draw the Boundaries?" linkpost
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 13 Apr 2019 23:42:22 +0000 (16:42 -0700)]
"Where to Draw the Boundaries?" linkpost

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 13 Apr 2019 23:39:16 +0000 (16:39 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 18 Mar 2019 06:58:25 +0000 (23:58 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 12 Mar 2019 16:17:45 +0000 (09:17 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 11 Mar 2019 05:07:44 +0000 (22:07 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoand one more thing
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 19 Feb 2019 03:11:30 +0000 (19:11 -0800)]
and one more thing

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 19 Feb 2019 02:56:18 +0000 (18:56 -0800)]
check in

Hopefully checking in the notes for "Social Strategy Notes" for some
future contiguous writing day will help me stop obsessing and let me
focus for the next week, which is supposed to be about code.

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 15 Feb 2019 22:08:27 +0000 (14:08 -0800)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 13 Feb 2019 19:40:34 +0000 (11:40 -0800)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 13 Feb 2019 17:37:38 +0000 (09:37 -0800)]
check in

2 years agomicro check-in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 6 Feb 2019 22:36:49 +0000 (14:36 -0800)]
micro check-in

2 years agocheck in notes and Twitter fantasy edits
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 6 Feb 2019 21:13:17 +0000 (13:13 -0800)]
check in notes and Twitter fantasy edits

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 2 Feb 2019 04:34:00 +0000 (20:34 -0800)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 30 Jan 2019 07:54:14 +0000 (23:54 -0800)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 28 Jan 2019 07:10:05 +0000 (23:10 -0800)]
check in

2 years ago"Use It or Lose It"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 28 Jan 2019 07:07:40 +0000 (23:07 -0800)]
"Use It or Lose It"

2 years agobetter post spacing
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 27 Jan 2019 01:58:20 +0000 (17:58 -0800)]
better post spacing

I was eager to just shove stuff out the door, but the point of filler
posts is to provide a more regular update schedule when you can't
manage that with effortposting

2 years agoqueue Interludes XVI–XVIII
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 27 Jan 2019 01:03:06 +0000 (17:03 -0800)]
queue Interludes XVI–XVIII

3 years agodrafting "Social Strategy Notes"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 20 Jan 2019 22:06:44 +0000 (14:06 -0800)]
drafting "Social Strategy Notes"

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 20 Jan 2019 22:06:21 +0000 (14:06 -0800)]
check in

3 years agocheck in post list
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 20 Jan 2019 04:28:38 +0000 (20:28 -0800)]
check in post list

3 years agocache a Tweet thread for August
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 20 Jan 2019 04:21:57 +0000 (20:21 -0800)]
cache a Tweet thread for August

3 years agodrafting "The Social Construction of Reality"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 20 Jan 2019 03:52:11 +0000 (19:52 -0800)]
drafting "The Social Construction of Reality"

3 years ago"The Dialectic": adjust the progressive narrative paraphrase
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 20 Jan 2019 01:32:06 +0000 (17:32 -0800)]
"The Dialectic": adjust the progressive narrative paraphrase

If "small effect size" is the Hydeian counter-counternarrative, then
the level-one narrative shouldn't talk about them.

3 years agocheck in raw draft material for "A Human's (Abridged) Guide"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 20 Jan 2019 00:02:41 +0000 (16:02 -0800)]
check in raw draft material for "A Human's (Abridged) Guide"

3 years agopost facto edits to metablogging
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 19 Jan 2019 23:16:30 +0000 (15:16 -0800)]
post facto edits to metablogging

3 years agopublish "The Dialectic"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 19 Jan 2019 22:52:33 +0000 (14:52 -0800)]
publish "The Dialectic"

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 19 Jan 2019 22:41:49 +0000 (14:41 -0800)]
check in

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 12 Jan 2019 19:34:52 +0000 (11:34 -0800)]
check in

3 years agowords mean things; you can't just repeat a cached phrase out of context
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 7 Jan 2019 04:57:13 +0000 (20:57 -0800)]
words mean things; you can't just repeat a cached phrase out of context

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 1 Jan 2019 22:08:38 +0000 (14:08 -0800)]
check in

I really want to use that "Quarantine" quote somewhere, even if my
planned reply to the "... Not Coming Out" post isn't happening

3 years agoacknowledge an irony
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 27 Dec 2018 07:54:44 +0000 (23:54 -0800)]
acknowledge an irony

3 years agometablogging
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 27 Dec 2018 07:46:36 +0000 (23:46 -0800)]
metablogging

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 27 Dec 2018 07:46:18 +0000 (23:46 -0800)]
check in

3 years agodrafting "The Dialectic"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 26 Dec 2018 00:54:38 +0000 (16:54 -0800)]
drafting "The Dialectic"

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 25 Dec 2018 23:59:23 +0000 (15:59 -0800)]
check in

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 Dec 2018 17:03:00 +0000 (09:03 -0800)]
check in

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 11 Dec 2018 07:55:41 +0000 (23:55 -0800)]
check in

3 years agodrafting "I Mean, Yes"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 9 Dec 2018 20:45:24 +0000 (12:45 -0800)]
drafting "I Mean, Yes"

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 9 Dec 2018 07:29:35 +0000 (23:29 -0800)]
check in

3 years agodrafting "I Mean, Yes, I Agree"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 9 Dec 2018 07:20:22 +0000 (23:20 -0800)]
drafting "I Mean, Yes, I Agree"

Today didn't feel that great, but netting more than 1100 words is
definitely good by historical standards! (Even during my sabbatical
that was allgedly for the purpose of writing, I averaged up with fewer
published words than this per two weeks!) Tomorrow is going to be busy
(reading group, Solstice), but maybe I can net a lot of words in the
morning?!

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 8 Dec 2018 16:38:57 +0000 (08:38 -0800)]
check in

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 5 Dec 2018 04:39:56 +0000 (20:39 -0800)]
check in

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 30 Nov 2018 07:35:03 +0000 (23:35 -0800)]
check in

3 years agocheck in stub provisionally titled "The Writer's Room"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 29 Nov 2018 07:01:45 +0000 (23:01 -0800)]
check in stub provisionally titled "The Writer's Room"

3 years agodrafting "I Mean, Yes"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 26 Nov 2018 05:44:06 +0000 (21:44 -0800)]
drafting "I Mean, Yes"

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 24 Nov 2018 22:19:42 +0000 (14:19 -0800)]
check in

3 years agodrafting "I Mean, Yes, I Agree"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 24 Nov 2018 07:02:33 +0000 (23:02 -0800)]
drafting "I Mean, Yes, I Agree"

3 years agoremove unnecessary qualifier
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 24 Nov 2018 04:54:47 +0000 (20:54 -0800)]
remove unnecessary qualifier

3 years agodrafting "I Mean, Yes, I Agree"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 24 Nov 2018 01:43:28 +0000 (17:43 -0800)]
drafting "I Mean, Yes, I Agree"

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 23 Nov 2018 21:25:12 +0000 (13:25 -0800)]
check in

3 years agodrafting "I Mean, Yes, I Agree"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 19 Nov 2018 07:24:02 +0000 (23:24 -0800)]
drafting "I Mean, Yes, I Agree"

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 18 Nov 2018 15:12:50 +0000 (07:12 -0800)]
check in

3 years agodrafting "I Mean, Yes, I Agree"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 15 Nov 2018 17:30:17 +0000 (09:30 -0800)]
drafting "I Mean, Yes, I Agree"

3 years agodrafting "I Mean, Yes, I Agree"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 12 Nov 2018 16:35:47 +0000 (08:35 -0800)]
drafting "I Mean, Yes, I Agree"

3 years agoax the "blame for misunderstanding" footnote
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 12 Nov 2018 04:44:21 +0000 (20:44 -0800)]
ax the "blame for misunderstanding" footnote

It's too passive-aggressive, and not adding a lot of value, besides

3 years agodrafting "I Mean, Yes, I Agree"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 12 Nov 2018 04:42:43 +0000 (20:42 -0800)]
drafting "I Mean, Yes, I Agree"

3 years agorename memetic-capture stub and add epigraph
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 11 Nov 2018 07:48:41 +0000 (23:48 -0800)]
rename memetic-capture stub and add epigraph

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 11 Nov 2018 00:19:27 +0000 (16:19 -0800)]
check in

3 years agodrafting "I Mean, Yes, I Agree"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 5 Nov 2018 07:56:48 +0000 (23:56 -0800)]
drafting "I Mean, Yes, I Agree"

The net wordcount gain here isn't great, but at least we've got the
skeleton in place, and I just need to finish shoveling text around?
Call it a week?

3 years agocheck in notes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 4 Nov 2018 16:40:26 +0000 (08:40 -0800)]
check in notes

3 years agodrafting money section for "I Mean, Yes"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 3 Nov 2018 17:44:56 +0000 (10:44 -0700)]
drafting money section for "I Mean, Yes"

3 years agooutlining for "I Mean, Yes, I Agree that Man"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 2 Nov 2018 15:33:49 +0000 (08:33 -0700)]
outlining for "I Mean, Yes, I Agree that Man"

3 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 29 Oct 2018 05:06:47 +0000 (22:06 -0700)]
check in

3 years agonon-404 (for now??) "Power of the Powerless" link
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 29 Oct 2018 04:58:07 +0000 (21:58 -0700)]
non-404 (for now??) "Power of the Powerless" link

A friend of the blog informed me via Reddit PM that this link had gone
stale.

3 years agoedits to "Sticker Prices"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 29 Oct 2018 04:55:04 +0000 (21:55 -0700)]
edits to "Sticker Prices"

"An" anecdote.

Despite wanting to keep the focus on me and my feelings about the
Narrative (rather than picking on my anonymous interlocutor who could
have been anyone in the Current Year, really), the "outgroup
homogeneity" link opportunity is too perfect to pass up

3 years agoqueue "Sticker Prices", "Interlude XIV", "Laser 9", "Interlude XV"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 22 Oct 2018 05:09:48 +0000 (22:09 -0700)]
queue "Sticker Prices", "Interlude XIV", "Laser 9", "Interlude XV"

Hopefully this leading stack of M-W-F-M posts will set a precedent
that the blog is a going concern!

I feel a little bit bad about the awkward writing in "Sticker Prices"
(there's an interesting writing problem that I'm trying to solve there
that, uncharacteristically, I don't want to be too transparent about),
but whatever, it's not that important of a post, and I want to get
something out about how I felt at the conference

3 years agolottery Interlude
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 21 Oct 2018 06:06:44 +0000 (23:06 -0700)]
lottery Interlude

(This one is from the notes transcribed from one of my 2007 notebooks,
"We Have Better Graphs"!)