Ultimately_Untrue_Thought.git
9 hours agoTuesday morning tap at "Challenges" master
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 30 Nov 2021 18:03:53 +0000 (10:03 -0800)]
Tuesday morning tap at "Challenges"

32 hours agoMonday morning tap at "Challenges"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 29 Nov 2021 18:40:19 +0000 (10:40 -0800)]
Monday morning tap at "Challenges"

32 hours agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 29 Nov 2021 18:33:26 +0000 (10:33 -0800)]
check in

44 hours agoineffective Sunday tap at "Challenges"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 29 Nov 2021 06:28:57 +0000 (22:28 -0800)]
ineffective Sunday tap at "Challenges"

I just was not effective today!

2 days agotap at "Challenges"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 28 Nov 2021 17:15:07 +0000 (09:15 -0800)]
tap at "Challenges"

Managed to "get started" with this yesterday and a minute ago, but
let's clear off the staging area and actually have a solid writing day
today! No time to waste.

3 days agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 28 Nov 2021 02:16:17 +0000 (18:16 -0800)]
check in

12 days agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 18 Nov 2021 05:17:04 +0000 (21:17 -0800)]
check in

3 weeks agoMonday morning tap at "Challenges"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 8 Nov 2021 15:40:11 +0000 (07:40 -0800)]
Monday morning tap at "Challenges"

3 weeks agotap at "Challenges"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 8 Nov 2021 03:00:06 +0000 (19:00 -0800)]
tap at "Challenges"

I've been having trouble Doing Things lately. This is a pretty poor
output for having an entire Sunday to myself. Maybe I can ramp
up—write a little bit every day, until I finally finish this and "A
Hill of Validity", and then I can move on with my life and not carry
this psychic scars around all the time.

Maybe I'll get in another small commit later tonight?!—even if my
dream of a big Writing Day was a lie.

3 weeks agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 7 Nov 2021 16:02:19 +0000 (08:02 -0800)]
check in

4 weeks agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 30 Oct 2021 19:23:11 +0000 (12:23 -0700)]
check in

5 weeks agocheck in (incl. rename finale notes file)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 23 Oct 2021 23:38:29 +0000 (16:38 -0700)]
check in (incl. rename finale notes file)

6 weeks agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 17 Oct 2021 21:59:05 +0000 (14:59 -0700)]
check in

6 weeks agopoke at "Challenges", "Never Smile" linkpost
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 17 Oct 2021 04:31:44 +0000 (21:31 -0700)]
poke at "Challenges", "Never Smile" linkpost

7 weeks agopoke at "A Previous Life's War"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 23:48:25 +0000 (16:48 -0700)]
poke at "A Previous Life's War"

7 weeks agostill reading the Gender Development text; and, some old evidence
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 23:33:41 +0000 (16:33 -0700)]
still reading the Gender Development text; and, some old evidence

7 weeks agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 18:30:03 +0000 (11:30 -0700)]
check in

8 weeks agodrafting "Challenges to Yudkowsky's Pronoun Reform Proposal"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 3 Oct 2021 02:01:24 +0000 (19:01 -0700)]
drafting "Challenges to Yudkowsky's Pronoun Reform Proposal"

8 weeks agoGender Development textbook notetaking
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 2 Oct 2021 22:09:03 +0000 (15:09 -0700)]
Gender Development textbook notetaking

This is still a good textbook! Marginal notetaking progress is better
than slacking off entirely, but it's not what I'm supposed to be doing
with prime Saturday writing hours.

8 weeks agoClosetspace—and how did I miss this one about Allison?
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 2 Oct 2021 21:43:40 +0000 (14:43 -0700)]
Closetspace—and how did I miss this one about Allison?

8 weeks agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 2 Oct 2021 15:16:48 +0000 (08:16 -0700)]
check in

Saturday! Need to get in a big writing day today!!

2 months ago"Blood Is Thicker Than Water" linkpost
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 30 Sep 2021 16:36:39 +0000 (09:36 -0700)]
"Blood Is Thicker Than Water" linkpost

2 months agoschedule "I Don't Do Policy"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 27 Sep 2021 05:06:05 +0000 (22:06 -0700)]
schedule "I Don't Do Policy"

2 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 27 Sep 2021 18:50:45 +0000 (11:50 -0700)]
check in

2 months agopublish "There Should Be a Closetspace/Lease Bound Crossover Fic"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 27 Sep 2021 05:02:18 +0000 (22:02 -0700)]
publish "There Should Be a Closetspace/Lease Bound Crossover Fic"

2 months agoxrossover fic tail speculation
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 26 Sep 2021 03:03:47 +0000 (20:03 -0700)]
xrossover fic tail speculation

I haven't been motivated to do anything today. Tomorrow needs to be a
big writing day—the last day of my vacation. If I want to make it
count, I should finish this up, get a lot of hacking into "Challenges"
and possibly the Facing Reality review, and schedule this and "I Don't
Do Policy."

2 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 26 Sep 2021 00:21:52 +0000 (17:21 -0700)]
check in

2 months agodrafting "Challenges to Yudkowsky's Pronoun Reform Proposal"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 22 Sep 2021 22:38:50 +0000 (15:38 -0700)]
drafting "Challenges to Yudkowsky's Pronoun Reform Proposal"

2 months agodrafting "Facing Reality" review coda
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 21 Sep 2021 20:29:53 +0000 (13:29 -0700)]
drafting "Facing Reality" review coda

2 months agopronoun reform check in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 21 Sep 2021 20:09:26 +0000 (13:09 -0700)]
pronoun reform check in

2 months ago"Facing Reality" review coda: intelligence as natural phenomenon
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 20 Sep 2021 22:00:01 +0000 (15:00 -0700)]
"Facing Reality" review coda: intelligence as natural phenomenon

2 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 20 Sep 2021 12:42:35 +0000 (05:42 -0700)]
check in

2 months ago"Facing Reality": first-order effects summary, and review-proper stinger
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Sep 2021 22:22:38 +0000 (15:22 -0700)]
"Facing Reality": first-order effects summary, and review-proper stinger

2 months agodrafting "Facing Reality" review and "Challenges"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 18 Sep 2021 15:24:47 +0000 (08:24 -0700)]
drafting "Facing Reality" review and "Challenges"

2 months agodrafting "Challenges to Yudkowsky's Pronoun Reform Proposal"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 16 Sep 2021 21:03:00 +0000 (14:03 -0700)]
drafting "Challenges to Yudkowsky's Pronoun Reform Proposal"

+1000 words—OK!

2 months agodrafting "Facing Reality" book review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 16 Sep 2021 21:00:58 +0000 (14:00 -0700)]
drafting "Facing Reality" book review

Net 470 words—OK! And that's a minority of what was done today.

2 months agocheck in for clean staging area before writing day
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 16 Sep 2021 14:15:06 +0000 (07:15 -0700)]
check in for clean staging area before writing day

My last full day in Cambridge—if I wasn't lying about this being a
writing vacation, I need to make a lot of progress today! No
distractions or excuses!

2 months agodrafting "Challenges to Yudkowsky's Pronoun Reform Proposal"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 15 Sep 2021 21:02:43 +0000 (14:02 -0700)]
drafting "Challenges to Yudkowsky's Pronoun Reform Proposal"

2 months agopoke at Closetspace/Lease Bound joint review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 15 Sep 2021 18:50:57 +0000 (11:50 -0700)]
poke at Closetspace/Lease Bound joint review

2 months agofill gap in "I Don't Do Policy" draft
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 15 Sep 2021 18:49:47 +0000 (11:49 -0700)]
fill gap in "I Don't Do Policy" draft

2 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 15 Sep 2021 13:41:40 +0000 (06:41 -0700)]
check in

2 months agodrafting "Facing Reality" review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 13 Sep 2021 20:05:58 +0000 (13:05 -0700)]
drafting "Facing Reality" review

2 months agopoke at stuff
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 11 Sep 2021 22:29:30 +0000 (15:29 -0700)]
poke at stuff

2 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 9 Sep 2021 15:34:22 +0000 (08:34 -0700)]
check in

2 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 8 Sep 2021 02:37:35 +0000 (19:37 -0700)]
check in

2 months agodrafting Lease Bound plot summary
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 6 Sep 2021 17:26:52 +0000 (10:26 -0700)]
drafting Lease Bound plot summary

2 months agodrafting joint Closetspace/Lease Bound review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 6 Sep 2021 05:10:23 +0000 (22:10 -0700)]
drafting joint Closetspace/Lease Bound review

2 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 4 Sep 2021 19:47:09 +0000 (12:47 -0700)]
check in

3 months agotap closet
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 30 Aug 2021 18:36:15 +0000 (11:36 -0700)]
tap closet

3 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 29 Aug 2021 00:59:13 +0000 (17:59 -0700)]
check in

3 months agoClosetspace summary/commentary
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 23 Aug 2021 00:30:43 +0000 (17:30 -0700)]
Closetspace summary/commentary

3 months agocheck back in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 22 Aug 2021 21:17:40 +0000 (14:17 -0700)]
check back in

I've been sad and lazy for a few months, but life goes on; I can't
pause time by being sad and lazy. Maybe today will be the start of
getting back into the practice of writing.

3 months agofinish Closetspace readthrough
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 22 Aug 2021 17:29:01 +0000 (10:29 -0700)]
finish Closetspace readthrough

3 months agocheck out
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 19 Aug 2021 03:07:29 +0000 (20:07 -0700)]
check out

3 months ago"Happy Meal"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 16 Aug 2021 06:11:17 +0000 (23:11 -0700)]
"Happy Meal"

3 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 14 Aug 2021 19:49:39 +0000 (12:49 -0700)]
check in

4 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 27 Jul 2021 20:13:48 +0000 (13:13 -0700)]
check in

4 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 8 Jul 2021 19:23:37 +0000 (12:23 -0700)]
check in

4 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 3 Jul 2021 16:19:19 +0000 (09:19 -0700)]
check in

5 months agotwo typos in the recent megapost
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 29 Jun 2021 04:08:55 +0000 (21:08 -0700)]
two typos in the recent megapost

5 months agoMonday morning drafting "Facing Reality" review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 28 Jun 2021 15:59:57 +0000 (08:59 -0700)]
Monday morning drafting "Facing Reality" review

5 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 28 Jun 2021 06:10:32 +0000 (23:10 -0700)]
check in

5 months agodrafting "Facing Reality" review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 28 Jun 2021 05:27:21 +0000 (22:27 -0700)]
drafting "Facing Reality" review

5 months agodrafting "Facing Reality" review—something stirring
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 27 Jun 2021 19:19:12 +0000 (12:19 -0700)]
drafting "Facing Reality" review—something stirring

This is going to need a lot of editing/rewriting to hit the tone and
content I want: so far, I've been feeling frame-locked to Murray's
world of statistics (that Vassar and co. would not buy), and
remembering what it was like to be on the other side is stirring up
some passions that contain information that didn't make it into the
statistics—but I'm also not saying the statistics are fake! Everything
is multicausal!

5 months agodrafting "Facing Reality" review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 27 Jun 2021 02:50:20 +0000 (19:50 -0700)]
drafting "Facing Reality" review

5 months agoClosetspace/Lease Bound summary notes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 26 Jun 2021 20:22:42 +0000 (13:22 -0700)]
Closetspace/Lease Bound summary notes

5 months ago"Human Diversity" individualism anchor
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 26 Jun 2021 15:48:53 +0000 (08:48 -0700)]
"Human Diversity" individualism anchor

5 months agocheck in (start of a glorious Saturday return to normalcy/productivity)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 26 Jun 2021 15:03:43 +0000 (08:03 -0700)]
check in (start of a glorious Saturday return to normalcy/productivity)

5 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 24 Jun 2021 04:19:11 +0000 (21:19 -0700)]
check in

I got distracted from this blog/project by a Dolphin War and was crazy
for a while. Clean the slate.

5 months agodrafting "Reply to Nate Soares"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 9 Jun 2021 19:36:44 +0000 (12:36 -0700)]
drafting "Reply to Nate Soares"

5 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 8 Jun 2021 20:29:23 +0000 (13:29 -0700)]
check in

5 months agocheck in, incl. CAH notes (this textbook is gr9)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 7 Jun 2021 19:14:30 +0000 (12:14 -0700)]
check in, incl. CAH notes (this textbook is gr9)

5 months agocheck in, including textbook notes and trilogy shoveling
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 7 Jun 2021 02:02:35 +0000 (19:02 -0700)]
check in, including textbook notes and trilogy shoveling

The already-written content for "Blanchard's Dangerous Idea" and "Hill
of Validity" are such a mess that I want them in different files:
start the draft clean from the begining, and shovel in prewritten
content as it fits into the narrative.

5 months agodrafting "Subspatial Distribution Overlap"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 7 Jun 2021 01:28:52 +0000 (18:28 -0700)]
drafting "Subspatial Distribution Overlap"

5 months agodrafting "Student Dysphoria"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 7 Jun 2021 00:46:34 +0000 (17:46 -0700)]
drafting "Student Dysphoria"

5 months agopre-poke at "Facing Reality" review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 7 Jun 2021 00:03:41 +0000 (17:03 -0700)]
pre-poke at "Facing Reality" review

5 months agocheck in, including notes from Gender Development textbook
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 6 Jun 2021 05:31:18 +0000 (22:31 -0700)]
check in, including notes from Gender Development textbook

5 months agodrafting "Subspatial Overlap"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 6 Jun 2021 05:27:58 +0000 (22:27 -0700)]
drafting "Subspatial Overlap"

5 months agopre-poke at "Facing Reality" review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 6 Jun 2021 05:25:37 +0000 (22:25 -0700)]
pre-poke at "Facing Reality" review

The book hasn't come out yet (and the publisher never responded to my
email asking for a review copy), but I can get started on the things I
want to say that don't intimately depend on the actual book
performance.

5 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 4 Jun 2021 15:50:37 +0000 (08:50 -0700)]
check in

5 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 3 Jun 2021 01:59:19 +0000 (18:59 -0700)]
check in

6 months agomake "Interlude XX" funnier by adding one word
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 31 May 2021 23:56:21 +0000 (16:56 -0700)]
make "Interlude XX" funnier by adding one word

6 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 31 May 2021 05:28:44 +0000 (22:28 -0700)]
check in

6 months agodrafting "Subspatial Distribution Overlap"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 31 May 2021 05:28:16 +0000 (22:28 -0700)]
drafting "Subspatial Distribution Overlap"

6 months agodrafting "Subspatial Distribution Overlap and Cancellable Stereotypes"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 30 May 2021 21:07:37 +0000 (14:07 -0700)]
drafting "Subspatial Distribution Overlap and Cancellable Stereotypes"

6 months agodrafting "... as Cognitive Illusion"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 30 May 2021 04:04:55 +0000 (21:04 -0700)]
drafting "... as Cognitive Illusion"

Not totally settled on which title/slug I want, but I at least figured
out how to start the prose.

6 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 29 May 2021 16:23:42 +0000 (09:23 -0700)]
check in

6 months agodrafting "Student Dysphoria"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 27 May 2021 06:12:08 +0000 (23:12 -0700)]
drafting "Student Dysphoria"

6 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 27 May 2021 00:29:56 +0000 (17:29 -0700)]
check in

6 months agooutline sketch for "Gender Identity as Cognitive Illusion"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 24 May 2021 03:04:44 +0000 (20:04 -0700)]
outline sketch for "Gender Identity as Cognitive Illusion"

6 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 24 May 2021 03:04:28 +0000 (20:04 -0700)]
check in

6 months agodrafting "I Don't Do Policy"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 24 May 2021 03:03:26 +0000 (20:03 -0700)]
drafting "I Don't Do Policy"

6 months agore-slug "Student Dysphoria, and ..."
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 May 2021 23:01:45 +0000 (16:01 -0700)]
re-slug "Student Dysphoria, and ..."

6 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 May 2021 05:53:43 +0000 (22:53 -0700)]
check in

6 months agodrafting "I Don't Do Policy"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 May 2021 05:46:05 +0000 (22:46 -0700)]
drafting "I Don't Do Policy"

6 months agoenqueue "Amulet"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 May 2021 05:44:23 +0000 (22:44 -0700)]
enqueue "Amulet"

6 months ago"Interlude XXI"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 May 2021 05:28:10 +0000 (22:28 -0700)]
"Interlude XXI"

6 months agoshovel
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 22 May 2021 19:56:21 +0000 (12:56 -0700)]
shovel

6 months agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 22 May 2021 02:48:28 +0000 (19:48 -0700)]
check in

6 months agooutlining, shoveling
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 20 May 2021 06:01:27 +0000 (23:01 -0700)]
outlining, shoveling