Ultimately_Untrue_Thought.git
2 years agolink to post revision history; and, compact Reddit share button
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 23 Mar 2020 06:41:59 +0000 (23:41 -0700)]
link to post revision history; and, compact Reddit share button

I love having my blog in Git! I should do this for my real-name blog!

The Reddit widget doesn't even seem to be working right (I think it's
supposed to display the score of posts that have been submitted)?

2 years agolink to Archives page grouped by month; drop Trigger Warning page
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 23 Mar 2020 06:21:28 +0000 (23:21 -0700)]
link to Archives page grouped by month; drop Trigger Warning page

2 years agofix busted italics
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 23 Mar 2020 06:07:52 +0000 (23:07 -0700)]
fix busted italics

2 years agopublish "Relative Gratitude and the Great Plague of 2020"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 23 Mar 2020 05:21:23 +0000 (22:21 -0700)]
publish "Relative Gratitude and the Great Plague of 2020"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 22 Mar 2020 06:04:43 +0000 (23:04 -0700)]
check in

2 years agodrafting "Relative Gratitude and ..."
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 22 Mar 2020 06:03:20 +0000 (23:03 -0700)]
drafting "Relative Gratitude and ..."

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 21 Mar 2020 17:16:14 +0000 (10:16 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: d=1 meaning, my heritage
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 19 Mar 2020 18:18:22 +0000 (11:18 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: d=1 meaning, my heritage

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: the axis
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 19 Mar 2020 06:33:03 +0000 (23:33 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: the axis

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: more on Schelling, creep towards the elephant
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 18 Mar 2020 16:28:58 +0000 (09:28 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: more on Schelling, creep towards the elephant

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: doing it on purpose
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 18 Mar 2020 07:08:48 +0000 (00:08 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: doing it on purpose

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 16 Mar 2020 03:59:45 +0000 (20:59 -0700)]
check in

2 years agodrafting Human Diversity review (Saturday)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 15 Mar 2020 05:40:01 +0000 (22:40 -0700)]
drafting Human Diversity review (Saturday)

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 14 Mar 2020 20:46:36 +0000 (13:46 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity review drafting (Thursday morning): appeal of the slate
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 12 Mar 2020 16:56:06 +0000 (09:56 -0700)]
Human Diversity review drafting (Thursday morning): appeal of the slate

2 years agopoking at Human Diversity review draft
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 12 Mar 2020 06:57:01 +0000 (23:57 -0700)]
poking at Human Diversity review draft

2 years agodrafting Human Diversity review (Wednesday morning)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Mar 2020 18:01:52 +0000 (11:01 -0700)]
drafting Human Diversity review (Wednesday morning)

2 years agodrafting Human Diversity review (Tuesday)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Mar 2020 06:33:42 +0000 (23:33 -0700)]
drafting Human Diversity review (Tuesday)

2 years agodrafting Human Diversity review (Monday)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 10 Mar 2020 17:22:14 +0000 (10:22 -0700)]
drafting Human Diversity review (Monday)

2 years agodrafting Human Diversity review (Sunday)
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Mar 2020 16:09:42 +0000 (09:09 -0700)]
drafting Human Diversity review (Sunday)

2 years agodraft speculative pitch of Human Diversity review to Less Wrong
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Mar 2020 16:09:04 +0000 (09:09 -0700)]
draft speculative pitch of Human Diversity review to Less Wrong

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: outline the hazardous/irrelevant second part
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Mar 2020 22:58:08 +0000 (15:58 -0700)]
Human Diversity review: outline the hazardous/irrelevant second part

I don't think my draft is hitting points in the right order (and this
is worth getting right), so tried I sketching out some bullet points
to keep me on track.

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Mar 2020 01:14:17 +0000 (17:14 -0800)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity review drafting Thursday "lunch": inference
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 5 Mar 2020 20:54:19 +0000 (12:54 -0800)]
Human Diversity review drafting Thursday "lunch": inference

2 years agoThursday morning pre-dayjob Human Diversity review drafting
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 5 Mar 2020 16:59:29 +0000 (08:59 -0800)]
Thursday morning pre-dayjob Human Diversity review drafting

2 years agoHuman Diversity drafting and notes-shovel
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 5 Mar 2020 04:41:05 +0000 (20:41 -0800)]
Human Diversity drafting and notes-shovel

2 years agoHuman Diversity pre-dayjob Tuesday review drafting: positioning
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 3 Mar 2020 17:07:44 +0000 (09:07 -0800)]
Human Diversity pre-dayjob Tuesday review drafting: positioning

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 3 Mar 2020 16:08:50 +0000 (08:08 -0800)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity review Monday pre-dayjob drafting: topology is crazy
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 2 Mar 2020 17:01:47 +0000 (09:01 -0800)]
Human Diversity review Monday pre-dayjob drafting: topology is crazy

Hopefully I'll be able to write more today! But I need to do some
dayjob work first!

2 years agoHuman Diversity review drafting: algebraic topology
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 2 Mar 2020 05:40:26 +0000 (21:40 -0800)]
Human Diversity review drafting: algebraic topology

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 2 Mar 2020 05:40:11 +0000 (21:40 -0800)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity after-Leap Day drafting session 1: aspirations
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 1 Mar 2020 22:29:04 +0000 (14:29 -0800)]
Human Diversity after-Leap Day drafting session 1: aspirations

2 years agopublish "If in Some Smothering Dreams" and "Cloud Vision"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 24 Feb 2020 08:04:01 +0000 (00:04 -0800)]
publish "If in Some Smothering Dreams" and "Cloud Vision"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 24 Feb 2020 06:49:19 +0000 (22:49 -0800)]
check in

2 years ago2020 year in copyright footer
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 Feb 2020 17:39:20 +0000 (09:39 -0800)]
2020 year in copyright footer

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 Feb 2020 07:11:53 +0000 (23:11 -0800)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity review—Part III: ACE model, polygenic scores
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 Feb 2020 07:02:12 +0000 (23:02 -0800)]
Human Diversity review—Part III: ACE model, polygenic scores

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 Feb 2020 01:20:16 +0000 (17:20 -0800)]
check in

2 years agosplit Sequencing backstory off from "I Tell Myself ..."
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 23 Feb 2020 01:14:30 +0000 (17:14 -0800)]
split Sequencing backstory off from "I Tell Myself ..."

The part that's just about how classic OB/LW formed my views will be a
lot easier to finish, and doesn't need pseudonyms (because there's no
way to credibly construe it as an attack, whereas the
institutional-betrayal narrative could be), so it can be its own post.

Instead of "Great Teacher"/"Popular Author" as the pseudonyms for
Yudkowsky/Alexander (respectively), I've decided I like "Robert
Stadler"/"Arthur Blair". If you're interested enough to be reading the
commit messages (!?) of my blog, you can probably figure out the
references.

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: altitude, introducing the ACE model
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 22 Feb 2020 23:34:31 +0000 (15:34 -0800)]
Human Diversity review: altitude, introducing the ACE model

2 years agoHuman Diversity review: drop TODO flags, population diff meanings
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 22 Feb 2020 22:55:23 +0000 (14:55 -0800)]
Human Diversity review: drop TODO flags, population diff meanings

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 22 Feb 2020 22:05:54 +0000 (14:05 -0800)]
check in

2 years agostarting to draft "Cloud Vision"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 22 Feb 2020 21:02:00 +0000 (13:02 -0800)]
starting to draft "Cloud Vision"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 22 Feb 2020 19:02:03 +0000 (11:02 -0800)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity review Wed. morning drafting: residual differences
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 19 Feb 2020 16:30:23 +0000 (08:30 -0800)]
Human Diversity review Wed. morning drafting: residual differences

2 years agoHuman Diversity Presidential session 5: cross-cultural gap
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 18 Feb 2020 04:42:26 +0000 (20:42 -0800)]
Human Diversity Presidential session 5: cross-cultural gap

2 years agoHuman Diversity Presidential session 4: Holland, Buckner
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 18 Feb 2020 04:15:08 +0000 (20:15 -0800)]
Human Diversity Presidential session 4: Holland, Buckner

2 years agoHuman Diversity review Presidential sprint session 3: univariate fallacy
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 18 Feb 2020 02:39:01 +0000 (18:39 -0800)]
Human Diversity review Presidential sprint session 3: univariate fallacy

Is it bad to treat a topic in passing when you still want to cover it
in more depth in a future post? (I wanted to work in the mathematics
of the "typical set" into this graf, but I didn't see how to make it
fit.) Maybe it's good.

2 years agoHuman Diversity review Presidential sprint session 2
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 18 Feb 2020 01:06:25 +0000 (17:06 -0800)]
Human Diversity review Presidential sprint session 2

2 years agoHuman Diversity review Presidential sprint session 1: appendices
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 18 Feb 2020 00:28:39 +0000 (16:28 -0800)]
Human Diversity review Presidential sprint session 1: appendices

2 years agoHuman Diversity backreading, note complication
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 17 Feb 2020 21:42:32 +0000 (13:42 -0800)]
Human Diversity backreading, note complication

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 17 Feb 2020 05:30:01 +0000 (21:30 -0800)]
check in

2 years agoHuman Diversity sprint session 3: standing variation and introgression
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 17 Feb 2020 03:28:18 +0000 (19:28 -0800)]
Human Diversity sprint session 3: standing variation and introgression

2 years agoHuman Diversity review Sunday night sprint session 2
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 17 Feb 2020 02:44:56 +0000 (18:44 -0800)]
Human Diversity review Sunday night sprint session 2

2 years agoHuman Diversity review Sunday night sprint session 1
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 17 Feb 2020 02:24:06 +0000 (18:24 -0800)]
Human Diversity review Sunday night sprint session 1

2 years agosort-of, kind-of working on Human Diversity review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 17 Feb 2020 02:00:54 +0000 (18:00 -0800)]
sort-of, kind-of working on Human Diversity review

Just because tomorrow is Presidents' Day is no excuse to slack off! I
want to finish this review! For Science! For the future!

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 16 Feb 2020 06:57:50 +0000 (22:57 -0800)]
check in

2 years agodrafting Human Diversity book review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 16 Feb 2020 06:57:23 +0000 (22:57 -0800)]
drafting Human Diversity book review

2 years ago"If in Some Smothering Dreams"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 16 Feb 2020 06:57:06 +0000 (22:57 -0800)]
"If in Some Smothering Dreams"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 10 Feb 2020 16:08:05 +0000 (08:08 -0800)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 9 Feb 2020 22:02:40 +0000 (14:02 -0800)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 2 Feb 2020 06:07:53 +0000 (22:07 -0800)]
check in

2 years agonotes after a phone conversation
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 27 Jan 2020 04:15:15 +0000 (20:15 -0800)]
notes after a phone conversation

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 27 Jan 2020 00:35:24 +0000 (16:35 -0800)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 26 Jan 2020 16:46:38 +0000 (08:46 -0800)]
check in

2 years agocopy edits and next steps
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 22 Jan 2020 03:52:01 +0000 (19:52 -0800)]
copy edits and next steps

I think I got the plural "equilibria" right the first time, and ispell
"fixed" it

2 years agopublish "Origins of Unfairness" review and scrap notes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 21 Jan 2020 06:19:58 +0000 (22:19 -0800)]
publish "Origins of Unfairness" review and scrap notes

2 years agofinish drafting "Origins of Unfairness" review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 21 Jan 2020 06:17:33 +0000 (22:17 -0800)]
finish drafting "Origins of Unfairness" review

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 20 Jan 2020 07:19:41 +0000 (23:19 -0800)]
check in

2 years agodrafting "Origins of Unfairness" review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 20 Jan 2020 07:19:30 +0000 (23:19 -0800)]
drafting "Origins of Unfairness" review

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Jan 2020 07:02:00 +0000 (23:02 -0800)]
check in

2 years agocompiling notes for "Origins of Unfairness" review
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 19 Jan 2020 07:01:44 +0000 (23:01 -0800)]
compiling notes for "Origins of Unfairness" review

2 years ago"I Tell" check in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 13 Jan 2020 02:41:19 +0000 (18:41 -0800)]
"I Tell" check in

2 years agoMarkdown footnote styling!
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 12 Jan 2020 07:05:49 +0000 (23:05 -0800)]
Markdown footnote styling!

To think that I checked in that special footnotes plugin (2980fe3c
"not thinking in nested parentheticals vs. installing a footnote
plugin", 19 Feb 2018), when it turns out that footnote capability was
part of Markdown itself all along!

2 years ago"I Tell": breakup song choice footnote
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 12 Jan 2020 07:03:50 +0000 (23:03 -0800)]
"I Tell": breakup song choice footnote

2 years ago"Terrorist Memeplexes" personal section anchor
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 6 Jan 2020 07:44:46 +0000 (23:44 -0800)]
"Terrorist Memeplexes" personal section anchor

2 years agotidy section placeholder
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 2 Jan 2020 07:25:53 +0000 (23:25 -0800)]
tidy section placeholder

2 years agocheck in; merge sections into "I Tell Myself" draft
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 2 Jan 2020 04:36:02 +0000 (20:36 -0800)]
check in; merge sections into "I Tell Myself" draft

I'm now feeling much more optimistic about not having to finish this
memoir!

2 years agofix "Variable Question Fallacies" link
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 22 Dec 2019 17:21:48 +0000 (09:21 -0800)]
fix "Variable Question Fallacies" link

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 14 Dec 2019 18:23:37 +0000 (10:23 -0800)]
check in

2 years agotweaks
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 13 Dec 2019 06:30:56 +0000 (22:30 -0800)]
tweaks

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" 12 December drafting
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 13 Dec 2019 05:47:12 +0000 (21:47 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" 12 December drafting

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 13 Dec 2019 03:55:43 +0000 (19:55 -0800)]
check in

2 years agomerge branch 'i_tell-11_Dec'
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 12 Dec 2019 07:18:34 +0000 (23:18 -0800)]
merge branch 'i_tell-11_Dec'

2 years ago"Quillette" with two 't's
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 12 Dec 2019 04:24:12 +0000 (20:24 -0800)]
"Quillette" with two 't's

2 years agosimulacra footnote for "Fully Consensual Gender"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 12 Dec 2019 04:23:35 +0000 (20:23 -0800)]
simulacra footnote for "Fully Consensual Gender"

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" 11 December drafting session 2: Catholic analogy
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 12 Dec 2019 04:02:46 +0000 (20:02 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" 11 December drafting session 2: Catholic analogy

I might want to grab a friend-of-a-friend as a Catholicism consultant
later; I don't know if "astray from the path of God", "flawed mortal
man" is actually how they'd say it, or if all my knowledge comes from
Protestant stereotypes.

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" 11 December drafting session 1: if we had the tech
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Dec 2019 23:15:42 +0000 (15:15 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" 11 December drafting session 1: if we had the tech

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Dec 2019 22:53:44 +0000 (14:53 -0800)]
check in

2 years ago"On the Argumentative Form" was supposed to go on the 13th
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Dec 2019 18:18:24 +0000 (10:18 -0800)]
"On the Argumentative Form" was supposed to go on the 13th

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Dec 2019 18:05:13 +0000 (10:05 -0800)]
check in

2 years agoenqueue eight posts from tonight to 22 December
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Dec 2019 17:58:11 +0000 (09:58 -0800)]
enqueue eight posts from tonight to 22 December

2 years agoprep "I Want to Be the One"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 10 Dec 2019 16:39:42 +0000 (08:39 -0800)]
prep "I Want to Be the One"

These lyrics were already posted on my real-name blog, but the
conjunction of already having a tradition of sheet music on this blog,
and the "special type of girl" line, makes me want to post it here.

I miss my friend who did the sheet music for me, but he's gone from
me.

2 years agodrafting smallposts
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 10 Dec 2019 16:27:49 +0000 (08:27 -0800)]
drafting smallposts

2 years agodrafting "More Schelling"; ambitions to post
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Dec 2019 16:58:12 +0000 (08:58 -0800)]
drafting "More Schelling"; ambitions to post

2 years agofinish up "On the Argumentative Form ..."
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Dec 2019 16:57:39 +0000 (08:57 -0800)]
finish up "On the Argumentative Form ..."

2 years agofinish up "Promises I Can Keep"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Dec 2019 16:57:26 +0000 (08:57 -0800)]
finish up "Promises I Can Keep"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Dec 2019 14:53:38 +0000 (06:53 -0800)]
check in

2 years agointrospective note from chatting with A.
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Dec 2019 23:50:12 +0000 (15:50 -0800)]
introspective note from chatting with A.

2 years agodraft "Political Science Epigrams"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Dec 2019 23:19:08 +0000 (15:19 -0800)]
draft "Political Science Epigrams"