Ultimately_Untrue_Thought.git
2 years agoMarkdown footnote styling!
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 12 Jan 2020 07:05:49 +0000 (23:05 -0800)]
Markdown footnote styling!

To think that I checked in that special footnotes plugin (2980fe3c
"not thinking in nested parentheticals vs. installing a footnote
plugin", 19 Feb 2018), when it turns out that footnote capability was
part of Markdown itself all along!

2 years ago"I Tell": breakup song choice footnote
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 12 Jan 2020 07:03:50 +0000 (23:03 -0800)]
"I Tell": breakup song choice footnote

2 years ago"Terrorist Memeplexes" personal section anchor
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 6 Jan 2020 07:44:46 +0000 (23:44 -0800)]
"Terrorist Memeplexes" personal section anchor

2 years agotidy section placeholder
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 2 Jan 2020 07:25:53 +0000 (23:25 -0800)]
tidy section placeholder

2 years agocheck in; merge sections into "I Tell Myself" draft
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 2 Jan 2020 04:36:02 +0000 (20:36 -0800)]
check in; merge sections into "I Tell Myself" draft

I'm now feeling much more optimistic about not having to finish this
memoir!

2 years agofix "Variable Question Fallacies" link
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 22 Dec 2019 17:21:48 +0000 (09:21 -0800)]
fix "Variable Question Fallacies" link

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 14 Dec 2019 18:23:37 +0000 (10:23 -0800)]
check in

2 years agotweaks
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 13 Dec 2019 06:30:56 +0000 (22:30 -0800)]
tweaks

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" 12 December drafting
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 13 Dec 2019 05:47:12 +0000 (21:47 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" 12 December drafting

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 13 Dec 2019 03:55:43 +0000 (19:55 -0800)]
check in

2 years agomerge branch 'i_tell-11_Dec'
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 12 Dec 2019 07:18:34 +0000 (23:18 -0800)]
merge branch 'i_tell-11_Dec'

2 years ago"Quillette" with two 't's
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 12 Dec 2019 04:24:12 +0000 (20:24 -0800)]
"Quillette" with two 't's

2 years agosimulacra footnote for "Fully Consensual Gender"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 12 Dec 2019 04:23:35 +0000 (20:23 -0800)]
simulacra footnote for "Fully Consensual Gender"

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" 11 December drafting session 2: Catholic analogy
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 12 Dec 2019 04:02:46 +0000 (20:02 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" 11 December drafting session 2: Catholic analogy

I might want to grab a friend-of-a-friend as a Catholicism consultant
later; I don't know if "astray from the path of God", "flawed mortal
man" is actually how they'd say it, or if all my knowledge comes from
Protestant stereotypes.

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" 11 December drafting session 1: if we had the tech
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Dec 2019 23:15:42 +0000 (15:15 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" 11 December drafting session 1: if we had the tech

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Dec 2019 22:53:44 +0000 (14:53 -0800)]
check in

2 years ago"On the Argumentative Form" was supposed to go on the 13th
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Dec 2019 18:18:24 +0000 (10:18 -0800)]
"On the Argumentative Form" was supposed to go on the 13th

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Dec 2019 18:05:13 +0000 (10:05 -0800)]
check in

2 years agoenqueue eight posts from tonight to 22 December
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 11 Dec 2019 17:58:11 +0000 (09:58 -0800)]
enqueue eight posts from tonight to 22 December

2 years agoprep "I Want to Be the One"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 10 Dec 2019 16:39:42 +0000 (08:39 -0800)]
prep "I Want to Be the One"

These lyrics were already posted on my real-name blog, but the
conjunction of already having a tradition of sheet music on this blog,
and the "special type of girl" line, makes me want to post it here.

I miss my friend who did the sheet music for me, but he's gone from
me.

2 years agodrafting smallposts
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 10 Dec 2019 16:27:49 +0000 (08:27 -0800)]
drafting smallposts

2 years agodrafting "More Schelling"; ambitions to post
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Dec 2019 16:58:12 +0000 (08:58 -0800)]
drafting "More Schelling"; ambitions to post

2 years agofinish up "On the Argumentative Form ..."
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Dec 2019 16:57:39 +0000 (08:57 -0800)]
finish up "On the Argumentative Form ..."

2 years agofinish up "Promises I Can Keep"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Dec 2019 16:57:26 +0000 (08:57 -0800)]
finish up "Promises I Can Keep"

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 9 Dec 2019 14:53:38 +0000 (06:53 -0800)]
check in

2 years agointrospective note from chatting with A.
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Dec 2019 23:50:12 +0000 (15:50 -0800)]
introspective note from chatting with A.

2 years agodraft "Political Science Epigrams"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Dec 2019 23:19:08 +0000 (15:19 -0800)]
draft "Political Science Epigrams"

2 years agomerge branch 'i_tell-7-8_Dec'
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Dec 2019 23:17:32 +0000 (15:17 -0800)]
merge branch 'i_tell-7-8_Dec'

Not doing so hot this Sunday 8th of December

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Dec 2019 23:17:17 +0000 (15:17 -0800)]
check in

2 years ago"I Tell Myself": the canary in the discourse algorithm
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Dec 2019 20:10:09 +0000 (12:10 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself": the canary in the discourse algorithm

2 years ago"I Tell Myself": shoveling text between files, joins to the main thread
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Dec 2019 05:13:30 +0000 (21:13 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself": shoveling text between files, joins to the main thread

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" 7 December drafting session 5: Serano doubt, psych unity
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Dec 2019 04:23:41 +0000 (20:23 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" 7 December drafting session 5: Serano doubt, psych unity

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" 7 December drafting session 4: Serano/Reddit evidence
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Dec 2019 02:57:39 +0000 (18:57 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" 7 December drafting session 4: Serano/Reddit evidence

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" 7 December drafting session 3: unscientific
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 8 Dec 2019 01:45:28 +0000 (17:45 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" 7 December drafting session 3: unscientific

2 years agoone more variant of the song
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 7 Dec 2019 22:48:56 +0000 (14:48 -0800)]
one more variant of the song

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" 7 December drafting session 2: fucking with the model
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 7 Dec 2019 17:20:47 +0000 (09:20 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" 7 December drafting session 2: fucking with the model

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" 7 December drafting session 1: blegg networks
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 7 Dec 2019 16:52:04 +0000 (08:52 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" 7 December drafting session 1: blegg networks

2 years agolast Friday night
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 7 Dec 2019 15:31:33 +0000 (07:31 -0800)]
last Friday night

2 years agopoke at stuff in the morning
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 6 Dec 2019 16:33:10 +0000 (08:33 -0800)]
poke at stuff in the morning

How deadly is the lack of a commit yesterday? Can we hope that it was
an anomaly—that the Schelling–Ainslie timeless-decision-theoretic
model of procrastination is wrong?

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" morning drafting
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 4 Dec 2019 17:10:44 +0000 (09:10 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" morning drafting

Disappointing that I didn't write last night, and this morning hasn't
been so hot, either—but I can at least go to my dayjob and not feel
subhuman.

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 4 Dec 2019 15:21:21 +0000 (07:21 -0800)]
check in

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" morning drafting session: my world, arguments, fraud
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 3 Dec 2019 16:54:39 +0000 (08:54 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" morning drafting session: my world, arguments, fraud

I think I'll do better at my dayjob today having the sense that I'm
making progress here!

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 3 Dec 2019 07:40:47 +0000 (23:40 -0800)]
check in

2 years agodrafting "I Tell Myself": modus ponens, what I think is going on
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 3 Dec 2019 07:40:18 +0000 (23:40 -0800)]
drafting "I Tell Myself": modus ponens, what I think is going on

2 years agoragequit motivations
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 3 Dec 2019 03:49:12 +0000 (19:49 -0800)]
ragequit motivations

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 2 Dec 2019 06:57:27 +0000 (22:57 -0800)]
check in

2 years agopaste "My Price for Joining" into the main thread
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 2 Dec 2019 00:38:40 +0000 (16:38 -0800)]
paste "My Price for Joining" into the main thread

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" 1 December drafting session 4
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 2 Dec 2019 00:09:49 +0000 (16:09 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" 1 December drafting session 4

2 years agoready?
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 1 Dec 2019 22:52:55 +0000 (14:52 -0800)]
ready?

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" 1 December drafting session 3
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 1 Dec 2019 22:13:46 +0000 (14:13 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" 1 December drafting session 3

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" 1 December drafting session 2
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 1 Dec 2019 21:12:15 +0000 (13:12 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" 1 December drafting session 2

2 years agoI want to see me be brave
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 1 Dec 2019 20:41:22 +0000 (12:41 -0800)]
I want to see me be brave

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" 1 December drafting session 1
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 1 Dec 2019 17:20:16 +0000 (09:20 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" 1 December drafting session 1

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 1 Dec 2019 02:34:55 +0000 (18:34 -0800)]
check in

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" Thursday morning drafting session 2
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 21 Nov 2019 16:43:03 +0000 (08:43 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" Thursday morning drafting session 2

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" Thursday morning drafting session 1
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Thu, 21 Nov 2019 16:01:03 +0000 (08:01 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" Thursday morning drafting session 1

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" Wednesday morning drafting
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 20 Nov 2019 18:01:12 +0000 (10:01 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" Wednesday morning drafting

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" note scraps from last night
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 20 Nov 2019 16:57:11 +0000 (08:57 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" note scraps from last night

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" Monday morning drafting before dayjob
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 19 Nov 2019 17:33:59 +0000 (09:33 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" Monday morning drafting before dayjob

I'll be a bit late, but I could argue that it's actually worth it from
my employer's perspective that I come in to work ready to focus rather
than being in pain because I haven't written anything.

2 years ago"I Tell" check in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 19 Nov 2019 15:01:45 +0000 (07:01 -0800)]
"I Tell" check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 19 Nov 2019 14:26:31 +0000 (06:26 -0800)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 18 Nov 2019 06:56:23 +0000 (22:56 -0800)]
check in

2 years agomerge branch 'i_tell-17_Nov'
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 18 Nov 2019 06:55:47 +0000 (22:55 -0800)]
merge branch 'i_tell-17_Nov'

2 years agomove "Failed Utopia #4-2" commentary into draft proper; tag spree
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 18 Nov 2019 06:50:03 +0000 (22:50 -0800)]
move "Failed Utopia #4-2" commentary into draft proper; tag spree

2 years agonotes, tidying, call the shot for new sections
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 18 Nov 2019 02:16:26 +0000 (18:16 -0800)]
notes, tidying, call the shot for new sections

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" Sunday drafting session 5: on fame
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 18 Nov 2019 01:36:58 +0000 (17:36 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" Sunday drafting session 5: on fame

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" Sunday drafting session 4: "kind of obvious, really"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 18 Nov 2019 00:54:11 +0000 (16:54 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" Sunday drafting session 4: "kind of obvious, really"

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" Sunday drafting session 3: on the verthandi
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 17 Nov 2019 23:31:09 +0000 (15:31 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" Sunday drafting session 3: on the verthandi

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 17 Nov 2019 21:27:23 +0000 (13:27 -0800)]
check in

I got distracted by the internet and local news, but writing is really
important so I can finally be at peace!

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" Sunday drafting session 2
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 17 Nov 2019 18:11:41 +0000 (10:11 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" Sunday drafting session 2

2 years ago"I Tell Myself" Sunday drafting session 1
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 17 Nov 2019 17:41:03 +0000 (09:41 -0800)]
"I Tell Myself" Sunday drafting session 1

I really want to get this done within a month so that I can move on
with my life! Suppose I write every day (including fanatically on free
days like this) and have a complete draft by 15 December. Then I can
offer pre-publication right-of-reply to key persons and publish on 4
January?

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 17 Nov 2019 07:36:17 +0000 (23:36 -0800)]
check in

tomorrow, perhaps, I will be brave enough to write for real

or else

I will never stop being in pain

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 15 Nov 2019 04:18:13 +0000 (20:18 -0800)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 13 Nov 2019 22:20:07 +0000 (14:20 -0800)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 11 Nov 2019 05:49:01 +0000 (21:49 -0800)]
check in

2 years agosmall commit
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 9 Nov 2019 21:47:36 +0000 (13:47 -0800)]
small commit

2 years agotidy notes a bit?
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 9 Nov 2019 17:03:13 +0000 (09:03 -0800)]
tidy notes a bit?

2 years agoI am in so much psychological pain all the time
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 8 Nov 2019 07:22:20 +0000 (23:22 -0800)]
I am in so much psychological pain all the time

and it's never going to stop until I write it down

2 years agopoking at "I Tell Myself" notes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 6 Nov 2019 17:05:02 +0000 (09:05 -0800)]
poking at "I Tell Myself" notes

I need to work on this every day until it's finished, even if it
hurts, even if it makes me late for my dayjob

2 years agobetter outlining technique
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Tue, 5 Nov 2019 16:48:10 +0000 (08:48 -0800)]
better outlining technique

Putting these bracketed stubs will make it easier for me to zero in on
filling them in without getting lost or being constrained to write
linearly

2 years agoI ineffectually tell myself to write
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 4 Nov 2019 16:04:53 +0000 (08:04 -0800)]
I ineffectually tell myself to write

I really need to step it up into actually-writing every day in
November so that I can have closure

2 years agoI tell myself to write
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 3 Nov 2019 07:34:26 +0000 (00:34 -0700)]
I tell myself to write

If I can manage to write something every day in November, then I can
finish telling the Whole Dumb Story and move on with my life

2 years agocheck in notes
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 2 Nov 2019 19:47:25 +0000 (12:47 -0700)]
check in notes

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 28 Oct 2019 06:13:33 +0000 (23:13 -0700)]
check in

2 years agoat least poking at "'I Tell Myself' ..."
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 28 Oct 2019 06:09:48 +0000 (23:09 -0700)]
at least poking at "'I Tell Myself' ..."

The pain won't go away until you write about it.

2 years ago"game theory of stigmatization" rough draft from SEXNET
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 26 Oct 2019 21:26:02 +0000 (14:26 -0700)]
"game theory of stigmatization" rough draft from SEXNET

I just sent this as a message to SEXNET (in a thread about Tail's
complaint against /r/itsafetish:
ttps://surveyanon.wordpress.com/2019/10/23/its-a-hate-sub/), but it
could be cleaned up into a proper blog post.

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 26 Oct 2019 18:08:05 +0000 (11:08 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 21 Oct 2019 04:59:00 +0000 (21:59 -0700)]
check in

This has not been as good of a writing day as Sunday is meant to be.

2 years agodrafting "On the Argumentative Form ..."
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 21 Oct 2019 03:05:10 +0000 (20:05 -0700)]
drafting "On the Argumentative Form ..."

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 20 Oct 2019 15:54:24 +0000 (08:54 -0700)]
check in

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 06:07:41 +0000 (23:07 -0700)]
check in

2 years agodrafting "'I Tell Myself ...'"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 06:06:17 +0000 (23:06 -0700)]
drafting "'I Tell Myself ...'"

I might be getting past the special block. (Writing is still hard, but
I might be to the point of it just being ordinary-hard, rather than
special-heartbreak hard.)

2 years agobackport "categorization" tag
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 03:38:08 +0000 (20:38 -0700)]
backport "categorization" tag

2 years agoZinnia Jones went offline
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 03:33:04 +0000 (20:33 -0700)]
Zinnia Jones went offline

It's tempting to say something snide here like, "And good riddance!"
but maybe that's too mean even for a commit message that almost no one
is actually going to read. (Who reads the commit messages for a
blog!?) It's a tragedy for the commons when someone's site goes down
(https://www.gwern.net/Archiving-URLs)!

2 years agofinish and publish "Self-Identity Is a Schelling Point"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Mon, 7 Oct 2019 03:32:03 +0000 (20:32 -0700)]
finish and publish "Self-Identity Is a Schelling Point"

2 years agostarting to get unblocked on grief blogging?
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sun, 6 Oct 2019 17:57:11 +0000 (10:57 -0700)]
starting to get unblocked on grief blogging?

I managed to write a little bit yesterday, despite mostly wallowing in
distraction

2 years agocheck in
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Sat, 5 Oct 2019 15:48:51 +0000 (08:48 -0700)]
check in

2 years agodrafting "Self-Identity Is a Schelling Point"
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Fri, 4 Oct 2019 07:02:48 +0000 (00:02 -0700)]
drafting "Self-Identity Is a Schelling Point"

2 years agobriefly drafting "Schelling Point" in the morning
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 2 Oct 2019 15:28:59 +0000 (08:28 -0700)]
briefly drafting "Schelling Point" in the morning

2 years agonibble
M. Taylor Saotome-Westlake [Wed, 2 Oct 2019 05:52:25 +0000 (22:52 -0700)]
nibble